We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My favourite in town!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Horse Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Rochdale B&B and Inns
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“My favourite in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent. Absolutely excellent. The atmosphere is always buzzing no matter when you visit and the live bands they have on that keep coming back are proof that this place has an amazing atmosphere for live music. There's tons of spirits and beers that are featured and changed regularly to keep things interesting and new and there's also cocktails, food and hotel rooms upstairs which are more than comfortable for short stays. Ben (the landlord) is a top guy, so friendly and always remembers a face.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ambiebambix3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    15
    8
    6
    15
See reviews for
15
18
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Was well aware the rooms are over a rock bar, but it just added to the experience, free entertainment! Clean and very comfortable its definitely somewhere we will make a return trip to. Thanks for a warm Rochdale welcome.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HypnoAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

I recently spent two nights where all the staff and management forgot I was the only resident and tired of walking about in the dark early morning I telephoned reception from inside the building because all access doors were locked . A very nice cleaner answered the phone and explained she was the only person in the building and nobody else knew I was resident . There was no breakfast as no kitchen staff on duty . I think health and safety went out of the window that night as apparently nobody knew I was a paying quest who had paid upfront . No refund was offered on leaving . I will not be returning.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 922MartinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B00B00_11, Owner at The Flying Horse Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
I’m very sorry your experience was not what you or we would expect, I’m also very sorry there was no chef on duty for your first morning to serve you breakfast although the cleaner you spoke to offered to sort you a breakfast but you politely refused.
The in-house misunderstanding came as the chef thought you were with a large group booking staying at the same time requiring no breakfast as they left for work at 6am. He was down the second morning but you didn’t come down (I’ve checked the CCTV for this).
I’m not sure why anywhere was in darkness? On the CCTV I can see that one light was out at the bottom of the 2nd floor staircase but generally all the main resident walkways are well lit and very safe. Also the doors are only looked to the bar when the bar/restaurant are closed which would make sense with no chef down to serve breakfast on your first night but if you needed to leave the hotel in an any kind of an emergency or not you would find all the fire doors easy to find and in full working order so I can assure you neither your health or safety were not in any danger. During your stay as you were not the only resident in fact there was only one other room vacant due to a party of 8 builders staying plus there are two living-in staff, one of which is the chef.
You are welcome to ring me anytime.
Yours sincerely
Ben Boothman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emerald, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently spent a few nights here and have to say was very pleased with every aspect. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was clean and very reasonably priced. The pub itself has a great atmoshere and the weekend I was there they had a couple of really good bands on. The food was beautiful and the beer was cold. What more could you ask for.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Deano1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed at the flying horse over a 4 day period while visiting from Australia and could not give the place a bigger wrap , The place has a great warm welcoming feel which the friendly staff conveyed right from when I arrived .
The pub itself is great with a selection of beers and ciders on tap was just what I was looking for , the entertainment is also 1st class over the weekend with live bands most nights and a great atmosphere.
The room was clean and tidy and the meals available are also great value for money , I will defiantly be recommending this place to mates in the future .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I visited rochdale for to weeks and everyone mentioned to me that i shuld stay at the flying horse pub an hotel. Let me tell you i was not dissipionted. The staff were always welcoming and happy to help. the rooms were always kept clean. the food was great they have great selection of beers and ales and spirits. the night life on the weekends there is well worth it as well great bands on every friday saterday and then there is the karaoke on sunday. so if you ever find yourself in rochdale the flying horse is the place to be.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

The rooms was clean and, contrary to at least one previous review; not in the least bit draughty.There was a tv to watch the news in the evening and tea and coffee making facilities in every room.The bathroom was well equipped with a decent hot shower, toilet and basin and the towels, which were fluffy, were replaced every day.
The breakfast was of historic proportion and tasty and I tried everything from simple bacon and egg to a full English. Good wi-fi access in either the bar or in the room and sport on the tv's in the bar. The welcome, from Ben & his Mum, was warm and genuine and - the piece de resistance - the value!
As I was going to be staying for a little while, I asked for a discounted rate and they were more than happy to oblige. At the end of the day, if its a choice between an anodyne Travelodge by a motorway or real home cooking, a fabulous welcome and a bargain - you'd have to be stupid to plump for the first!

Room Tip: If you're not a fan of live music, just ask for one of the rooms furthest away from the bar. Oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJW2701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Bury Hotel
3.5 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Horse Hotel

Property: The Flying Horse Hotel
Address: 37 Packer Street | Town Hall Square, Rochdale OL16 1NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flying Horse Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of Rochdale town centre, parallel to the historic Town Hall and central to local shops, restaurants, bars and clubs. We are easily accessible by bus or train and we have superb motorway connections with the M62, M60 and M66 all just a 5 minute drive away. The Flying Horse is a modern yet traditional hotel with a lively popular public house and a private function room for up to 200 people. The hotel consists of ten en-suite bedrooms all with free high speed Wifi, new LCD TVs and tea and coffee facilities. Open daily, the pub serves traditional homemade meals (all main meals on the menu under £5) with an additional daily specials board. The Flying Horse has been included in the Good Beer Guide since 2002 and hosts a staggering range of traditional real cask ales (minimum of 8 different ales per week), lagers and bottled ciders served by a team of friendly, professional and enthusiastic staff. We are well known for our quality weekly entertainment including a variety of live bands, tribute acts, karaoke and the all new "Band-e-oke" where you can perform your favourite songs alongside a live band. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Flying Horse Hotel Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing