We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"First Class food & Service"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Baum

The Baum
Ranked #22 of 294 Restaurants in Rochdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“"First Class food & Service"!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Second visit this year and still impressed, Fantastic beer, Food & Services cannot fault it one bit. 8 of us visited it on Saturday night and a good atmosphere, Good food and good service. We pre ordered our table our table and as always it was ready. Still surprised no how cheap it is for the quality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    70
    23
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“"Home cooked food served all day..." but don't let it fool you.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

You know the feeling...you arrive at the venue and there's an A' board outside advertising "home cooked food served all day" and to be honest my heart usually sinks. Visions of a somewhat tatty or ersatz lounge, all faux "pub" and an overriding smell of stale chip fat.

Fortunately, having won Camra Pub of the Year 2012 and hence our visit - there was none of that.

Mrs S and I entered from the front and on a bright first of May the place initially seemed a bit dark. We met up with friends who had managed, just, to secure a table in the bright conservatory at the rear and which provided a pleasant view throughout most of the rest of the pub. And pub is it. Flag floors, plain and mis-matched wooden tables and spotlessly clean. A fine start.

Mr T. had already made inroads on the beers from an excellent selection. I started with Spring Fever from Milltown brewery (Huddersfield). Super beer in tip-top form; pale, golden and citrussy and perfect as an aperitif on an afternoon.

Next up the food. Menus are out on the tables and specials displayed on a tv / computer monitor over the bar.

It would be fair to say that the menu has no pretensions to fine dining but offers the sort of food many of us would cook on weekdays at home, with a perhaps understandable surfeit of chips, although not exclusively so.

From a decent selection we ordered two rag pudding, one with mash as opposed to the proffered chips and both served with gravy and big, fat, marrowfat peas, bacon chops served with chips and fried egg and something I rarely order when out, cheese and onion pie (because in most places it is disgusting) with chips. It was offered with peas which seems an alien combination to me so I asked for beans and the delightful young lady behind the bar replied with the now ubiquitous "no problem," And all the better was the meal for the swap.

The delay was just long enough for the food to have been warmed / chips cooked etc, and the plates were then served together.

Four bonny platefuls were presented.

No complaints from Mrs T. who was well satisfied with her bacon chops - three thick, handsome looking cuts. The rag pudding, from a local supplier was also enjoyed although marked down for its pepperiness. And the cheese and onion pie was delightful. Properly home-made short crust pastry and a tasty filling. if I have one gripe, I would have preferred the onions to have been cooked out further before adding to the pie.

Beer tasting continued and I counted seven beers on this afternoon; all in great condition and ranging from light and golden through red (Jennings Red Rascal) to the dark beers such as Dark Star.

Top lagers were also available including the excellent Leffe blonde on draught, Hoegarden and Amstel.

The Baum is a pub and on this visit a damned fine one and with no pretensions to be anything else. Long may they succeed. If more pubs followed their model and without the hindrance of the breweries the pub trade in this country would be in a much healthier state.

A deserved winner of Camra pub of the year.

Well worth a visit and don't be put off by "home cooked food served all day."

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food OK but far from best pub in country”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Was prompted to go here as CAMRA voted it pub of the year. Visited on Sat afternoon for a few pints with friends and somewhat disgruntled to find virtually every table 'booked for food'. Acceptable in a restaurant maybe but in a pub! Atmospheric inside and friendly feel. Limited range of real ales, 2 of which were very bland. Food was fine but I know of dozens of pubs better than this one.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank manc666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food on the go”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Meals are ok but can change from month to month, sometimes really good other times so so, also the prices for drinks as gone very high.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ria2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heywood lancs.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A very Happy Birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

After a couple of "drinking" visits we decided to book a table for our daughters' birthday on a Saturday lunch time. Once again the staff knowledge of the real ales is impressive and the bar service very good. As for the food, the choice, portion size and service were also excellent. Not having eaten here before we made the mistake of over ordering and found ourselves well and truly full. The licencees work extremely hard to provide high quality, good choice and friendly service in both food and drink. Well deserved of CAMRA's National Pub of the Year accolade.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BEESLEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baum also viewed

Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Baum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing