We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I can't believe it's in Rochdale!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Villas Residence
Ranked #2 of 14 Rochdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The main road it's on does not look promising, and the drive is small - you could easily miss it (though there is a large sign up above the wall just after it). but then you go up the drive and wow, it's an oasis of classiness and calm. The hours and the rooms are full of paintings, sculptures, great furniture, it's got a wonderful feel to it. Free wifi, excellent bathroom. Run by a very nice chap. Not the cheapest but worth plashing out an extra £20 to get an above average experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JinnyJones1982232a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 282 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2014

I was made to feel that I was a welcome guest at a country home house party - wonderful. As a solo guest Paul, the owner, went out of his way to recommend a good local restaurant and phoned ahead to ask them to look after me. On my return I was greeted by Harvey the dog and Paul offered a glass of wine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

A lovely reception from the charming host...two perfectly chilled white wines served in the back lounge leading on to a pretty courtyard. The hotel is packed with curios and antiques so you are never short of things to look at and comment on. Impressive fireplaces in every room. Crisp white bedding and spotlessly clean throughout. Nice breakfast served on quaint crockery with silver sugar tongs etc...Attention paid to minute details. Refreshingly different from the big chains.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alibobs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our wedding night. Paul the owner was so welcoming and helpful. We explained that we wouldn't be arriving until late (our wedding venue was elsewhere) and asked if someone would be up to let us in. He said that he would be happy for us to drop our overnight bag the day before the wedding so we wouldn't have to worry about it on the day, then gave us a key so we could just let ourselves in without bothering anyone. The room was amazing (the Art Deco room) spacious, airy and full of antiques, the bed was also so so comfortable.
Breakfast in the morning was delicious and the service was very good. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haqs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

We were dropping my daughter and friends off in Manchester for a concert, and were going to visit an old friend in Rochdale. We booked into the villas after reading the reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed. It was completely unlike anywhere else I have ever stayed. Stunningly beautiful, sumptuous, luxurious, gorgeous and every other word in between. The rooms are just simply gorgeous. The thought that has went into the decor and antiques is incredible. Although this stunning manor house is full of antiques and paintings, you won't find a speck of dust anywhere. We thoroughly enjoyed our night in a sumptuous four poster bed. The breakfast was just as good. I really could not find a fault with this hotel. I will be thinking about this place for a long time to come. Cannot recommend it highly enough. Just go there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCfanEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Am originally from Rochdale and was here with my partner for two days whilst visiting family and sharing my 50th birthday with my twin sister. Now I chose this b&b with myself in mind rather than the other half for a change, and rather than the usual chain style hotels, wanted something a bit more personal and special. You got exactly that here with beautiful big interesting bedrooms and the rest of the house, sorry I should say HOME, because that was how it felt, just fantastic. Paul and Anita treated us immediately like friends, nothing was too much trouble. Even my partner asking for black pudding and mushrooms the next day on his full english didn't faze Paul, as he went out and bought them!! Even the dog Harvey was eager to please by chasing sticks and leaves!! Oh and thank you for the wine and beers! Hope to see you all again. Xxxxxx

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Set conveniently but peacefully near the centre of Rochdale. What a find. Absolutely beautiful interior packed with tasteful antiques and wonderfully displayed art works. Luxurious room. Companionable hosts. Thanks so much for such a comfortable friendly stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochdale hotels
1.2 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
2.4 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Moss Lodge
Moss Lodge
#1 of 14 in Rochdale
243 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
2.8 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 2 in Whitworth
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas Residence

Address: 2 Oakenrod Villas Bury Road | Bury Road, Rochdale OL11 4EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rochdale
Price Range: $87 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Villas Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas Residence is a small 19th century Georgian style Boutique Guest house in Rochdale, Lancashire. It is the essence of a welcoming private residence.The Villas offers accommodation set in an atmosphere of a bygone era. Antique furnishings and exquisite decoration make each room a romantic home from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Villas Residence Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing