We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Villas Residence
Ranked #2 of 14 Rochdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Am originally from Rochdale and was here with my partner for two days whilst visiting family and sharing my 50th birthday with my twin sister. Now I chose this b&b with myself in mind rather than the other half for a change, and rather than the usual chain style hotels, wanted something a bit more personal and special. You got exactly that here with beautiful big interesting bedrooms and the rest of the house, sorry I should say HOME, because that was how it felt, just fantastic. Paul and Anita treated us immediately like friends, nothing was too much trouble. Even my partner asking for black pudding and mushrooms the next day on his full english didn't faze Paul, as he went out and bought them!! Even the dog Harvey was eager to please by chasing sticks and leaves!! Oh and thank you for the wine and beers! Hope to see you all again. Xxxxxx

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 282 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

Set conveniently but peacefully near the centre of Rochdale. What a find. Absolutely beautiful interior packed with tasteful antiques and wonderfully displayed art works. Luxurious room. Companionable hosts. Thanks so much for such a comfortable friendly stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We arrived mid afternoon to a very warm welcome. Having deposited our luggage in our beautiful furnished bedrooms we relaxed in the guest lounge in front of a cosy real fire with a bottle of champagne. After a fantastic meal at Nutters Restaurant, Paul greeted us with a night cap before retiring for the night. Breakfast was in another fabulous decorated and furnished room. Recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 40Cindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We stayed for the first time here last week - as we regulalry visit Rochdale on buisness.
The house is a beautiful Victorian mansion filled with interesting modern and antique artifacts.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable and uniquely decorated.
The servce was great and we found our hosts both very friendly and welcoming.
Certainly beats the cheap business hotels dotted around.
We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Features of this residence leave you in awe. Amazing service and I'm writing this and I'm still here don't even want to go home. This place is as another reviewer said an oasis. Tranquil grounds and amazingly pleasant owner. May just start coming here for the sake of it it's that nice. Thanks

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank AMCONW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

after being stuck in traffic on the way up from london, and also stopped by the police for no reason, we arrived a bit tired and miffed and found a little oasis off the bury road - which in all fairness isn't the nicest road in the world but as soon as i saw paul, the owner, that didn't matter. he is incredibly welcoming, inviting us for a glass (or 2) of wine when we had settled in, and his house is also incredible. its top to toe full of antiques and paintings from yonder...we stayed in the the tudor room - which wowed us. the bed was so comfortable, it was hard to get out of it to go to dinner. the bathroom was lovely- clean, with a separate shower and bath - always a winner. breakfast was super lovely- full english breakfast - again, always a winner. the main thing about it was paul though...the whole house is him, and that was what made it such a lovely experience. thank you

Room Tip: i'd go for the tudor room as it has a lovely 4 poster bed and it at the top of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannabay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Quiet location, with wonderful features, great bedrooms and bathrooms. Owners offer tea/coffee and a glass of wine,great hospitality. Cooked breakfast good,possibly more choice. Overall a special and unique b&b.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rosina m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochdale hotels
1.2 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
468 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
1.4 mi away
Moss Lodge
Moss Lodge
#1 of 14 in Rochdale
242 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas Residence

Address: 2 Oakenrod Villas Bury Road | Bury Road, Rochdale OL11 4EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rochdale
Price Range: $86 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Villas Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas Residence is a small 19th century Georgian style Boutique Guest house in Rochdale, Lancashire. It is the essence of a welcoming private residence.The Villas offers accommodation set in an atmosphere of a bygone era. Antique furnishings and exquisite decoration make each room a romantic home from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Villas Residence Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing