We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Villas Residence
Ranked #2 of 14 Rochdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 5, 2014

It isn't often that you can write a review and not have at least some sort of negative comment, but on this occasion, I really can't. Thank you for great hospitality, good food and a comfortable, quiet room. I can't say more than it would be a great pleasure to return.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GastronomeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
There are newer reviews for The Villas Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 282 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay in Greater Manchester for a night away near to the countryside. The reviews on TA attracted us here and we were not disappointed. The B and B is stunning. It is a beautiful house with charming antiques. It has real character. Paul was an excellent host giving us some great recommendations for walks, pubs and places to eat. Great breakfast in the morning and a really relaxing stay. Highly recommended.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We loved our stay at this charming Victorian styled homely residence. It was superbly furnished, decorated and equipped. Everything was of the best quality, from the ketchup at breakfast to the fine sheets and bedding. We loved it. The hotelier, Paul, was friendly and most professional. We cannot praise this darling little hotel enough. It is the benchmark by which we measure all the other hotels we stay at in future. It is the kind of place that puts you right off large impersonal chain hotels. It was homely, warm, comfortable and had bags of character and charm. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: ask for a 4-poster perhaps?
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highspen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Its not easy to find decent places to stay in Rochdale, they are thin on the ground so I was thrilled to find this gorgeous unique boutique 'guest house'. Paul is a wonderful host and clearly passionate about antiques and this is reflected in the amazing decor. but despite being surrounded by artefacts and 'masters' on the walls, it doesnt feel at all 'stuffy', theres a friendly contemporary feel and the shower room was state of the art. Breakfast was fantastic, good quality food and nothing was too much trouble. Brilliant for single travellers, couples and probably families too

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janey066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have nothing but praise for the hospitality and ambiance of this hotel. A lucky find but we'll stay again if we're in the area. The host recommended a restaurant nearby and we were not disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Secretsh0pper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

This is my second time at the Villas Residence, having previously been here with my wife. The hotel is delightfully styled and decorated with beautiful furniture and artefacts. It is really a private home that you can stay in. Paul, the owner, is extremely friendly and welcoming but also happy to leave you to your own devices if that is what you prefer. The overall atmosphere uniquely charming and I cannot recommend it too highly. Excellent breakfast prepared to order.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuchfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We didn't know what to expect when we booked this hotel but from the minute we walked in we were made to feel so welcome. Paul was great, he took my wife and I around his wonderful home and then we emptied a nice bottle of wine together. After returning back from a meal at Nutters (quality), we opened another bottle wine with Paul and just chatted together in the best sitting room ever, 3 bottles of wine later we stumbled off to bed and then woke up to the smell of the best English breakfast ever. What a great experience and what a nice change. Thanks Paul for being such a great host we loved your company and can't wait to return. Hayley and John.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochdale hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
1.2 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
3.5 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
220 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas Residence

Address: 2 Oakenrod Villas Bury Road | Bury Road, Rochdale OL11 4EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rochdale
Price Range: $88 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Villas Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas Residence is a small 19th century Georgian style Boutique Guest house in Rochdale, Lancashire. It is the essence of a welcoming private residence.The Villas offers accommodation set in an atmosphere of a bygone era. Antique furnishings and exquisite decoration make each room a romantic home from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Villas Residence Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing