We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Villas Residence
Ranked #2 of 14 Rochdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review -- but this is a very special B&B/hotel. Everything that everyone else has pointed out, is absolutely true and we had a delightful stay. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for somewhere charming to stay around Manchester/Rochdale/Oldham area. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 282 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just occasionally you find a real gem, the Villas was such a place. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were well looked after by Paul and his staff. The house is full of antiques and paintings, beautiful. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and spacious. If we are ever near Rochdale again we will definitely stay. Wonderful value for money.

Room Tip: The bedroom overlooking the back garden was peaceful and airy and you could open the window!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Norwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This is my second stay & won't be my last. I love everything about this little gem of a hotel/B&B from the fabulous antiques dotted around the property to the bug comfy bed & large shower en-suite.
Breakfast is yummy & plenty full. Paul is friendly & nothing seems to be too much trouble - I won't stay anywhere else when in this area.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank portiabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Really enjoyed staying in such a fascinating, beautiful place with lots of interesting antiques. It is like staying in someone's home. The kitchen is worth a peek- wow. Very comfortable bed (and that's rare in the modern chain hotels). Owners very helpful if you want advice on eateries in the area, etc.. Also, I had left a cardigan behind and they kindly posted it to me which is a thoughtful, caring thing to do (thank you, Paul). Delicious breakfast too. This was a personal stay but proximity to Manchester for future business trips makes it an good location too so I am sure one/both of us will return.

Room Tip: All probably good. Electric toilet bit noisy but an old, historic property so best option and works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

As I needed to stay in the Manchester area the night before an early business meeting I decided to look around for something different from the usual bland corporate hotel experience that is normal for business travellers like myself. So with one eye on price and the other on gaining an overall better experience I booked The Villas Residence. In short this is what a business trip should be like. Paul (the owner) could'nt have been more welcoming with a glass of wine and some welcome company compared to the usual corporate experience. This small hotel is an oasis in the Rochdale area with it's unique antique atmosphere, comfy bed and well appointed facilities (I gained the benefit of an ensuite bathroom). Free wifi is a must these days and I was able to catch up with work in my room.
Traffic along the M62 /M60 the next morning was not good as I headed into the city centre and would unfortunately, for me, would have to be a factor when looking for a suitably located hotel in the future (this was entirely my own fault as distance unfortunately does not always equal time). I arrived with minutes to spare for a 9.00am appointment having set off at 8.10am from the hotel. With more time I would have liked to enjoy the cooked breakfast which was on offer and been able to take in more of the relaxed atmosphere.
In short Paul offers a fine (and in these days, an almost unique service). As long as I did not have an early morning appointment in the city centre the next day, I would definitely stay again and most certainly would recommend this hotel for people with more time to spare. Relax and enjoy!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJEWOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

This hotel was fantastic when I went October last year.

The owner was very welcoming, offered my wife and I, a class of champagne on arrival. He also allowed our dog to stay in the hotel with us.

The decor is amazing, with many old antiques and classy furniture. You really don't feel like home when you stay here. It feels like you've been invited into a cosy rich persons home with all the fillings.

Our rooms were really nice, big comfy beds, modern TV etc.

A bonus was that because we booked two rooms, we had the whole of the upstairs to ourselves!

Breakfast was nice, pretty standard.

Overall a great place to stay if you are visiting Rochdale.

Room Tip: A bit of a nightmare to find the hotel if you don't have a sat nav, but well worth it when you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed here for our wedding night.
What a truley amazing house! So much thought and love has gone into the decoration and furnishings. Such a homely, friendly atmosphere and very romantic.
The welcome and service was wonderful and the breakfast fantastic
A wonderfully unique experience that we would highly recommend

Room Tip: all the rooms are amazing, it was difficult to choose between them
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochdale hotels
1.2 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
467 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
2.4 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
1.4 mi away
Moss Lodge
Moss Lodge
#1 of 14 in Rochdale
242 reviews
5.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villas Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villas Residence

Address: 2 Oakenrod Villas Bury Road | Bury Road, Rochdale OL11 4EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rochdale
Price Range: $86 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Villas Residence 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Villas Residence is a small 19th century Georgian style Boutique Guest house in Rochdale, Lancashire. It is the essence of a welcoming private residence.The Villas offers accommodation set in an atmosphere of a bygone era. Antique furnishings and exquisite decoration make each room a romantic home from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Villas Residence Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing