We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“peacock room is a must”
Review of The Peacock Room

The Peacock Room
Ranked #32 of 299 Restaurants in Rochdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $65
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Bury Road
Transit: At the end of the lane
Description: The Peacock Room at the Crimble is simply a superb venue. Set back from the main road, you feel as though you are in the middle of the countryside. Watch out for Peacocks, who freely roam around the mature garden grounds which surround the building. The restaurant itself is wonderfully opulent. Enter the aperitif bar and enjoy a cocktail or glass of champagne. Peruse the innovative menu featuring seasonal ingredients, freshly prepared into interesting, sumptuous dishes. The food style is modern British, with some international twists. The dinning room features 2 stunning chandeliers amongst its many unique features. The service style includes a warm welcoming approach to fine dining. If you would like information or advice about any of our dishes, or our extensive wine list, feel free to ask, we are here to help.
England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“peacock room is a must”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Crimble has food and prices to suit everyone but I would highly recommend the Peacock room. This restaurant offers a great menu, lovely location and excellent food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear NooKoo_Sue
Thank you so much for your review, the team are thrilled that you enjoy the food, service and surroundings and look forward to welcoming you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    62
    25
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The 19.50 per head Sunday Lunch 3 course menu at the Crimble's Peacock Room has to be the best value in Greater Manchester.

A good choice for each course, lovely surroundings, professional staff - an American friend makes this her first stop on every visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank ManchesterJoan1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Joan Manchester 1948
Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted that you enjoy our Sunday lunch and we look forward to welcoming you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappoint on this occasion”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Took some friends on June 1st to treat them for their silver wedding Having been many many times before was not in any doubt that we would have a fine dining experience David the manager was not present so despite asking no one to help with the wine list The food was wonderful as always and the waitresses who served our food were lovely. The disappointment comes from the young man who served our wine ( not the young man on the bar he was lovely) his attitude was not the best and his service was far from the best. We ordered a second bottle of white wine we all had some of the original bottle left in our glasses and he promptly went wine from the new bottle into the existing wine without asking if we would like to try it !!! A second bottle of red wine was ordered and when he came with it we asked for clean glasses he grunted and went to get some. On his return some time later we were informed that there were no clean glasses we had to ask him could he please take the dirty glasses and wash them which he was not very happy about. It did not ruin our evening but this is not the standard or quality of service expected at a restaurant like this. The manager was missed!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Gerry S
We are so sorry you were let down on this occasion, as a regular diner with us you are aware that your experience is well below par. We have fed your feedback to David who will ensure that this won’t happen again and provide additional training to the relevant colleague so he can meet our standards of service. We do hope you visit again where I’m sure you will see much improvement
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Jan's 50th”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our favourite restaurant in Rochdale where Jan had invited us to help her celebrate her 50th birthday. We had a great time and the meal, as usual was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary13121953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Mary13121953
We are thrilled that we are your favourite restaurant in Rochdale, and thank you for taking the time to post your review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“10th Wedding Anniversary - Wonderful”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We went here to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary. The food was amazing. Breast of Quail with a corn puree with tiny mushrooms followed by Butter sole with a scrumptious foam - gastronomic heaven - Would truly recommend. Staff were extremely courteous, but friendly too. They are able to combine sophistication with a relaxed environment. I would heartily recommend this restaurant and we will certainly be returning soon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Dawn F
Thank you for choosing us to celebrate your happy occasion, we are delighted you enjoyed your experience with us and look forward to welcoming you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Room also viewed

Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Bury, Greater Manchester
Bury, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Peacock Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing