We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Peacock Room

The Peacock Room
Ranked #31 of 305 Restaurants in Rochdale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $65
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Bury Road
Transit: At the end of the lane
Description: The Peacock Room at the Crimble is simply a superb venue. Set back from the main road, you feel as though you are in the middle of the countryside. Watch out for Peacocks, who freely roam around the mature garden grounds which surround the building. The restaurant itself is wonderfully opulent. Enter the aperitif bar and enjoy a cocktail or glass of champagne. Peruse the innovative menu featuring seasonal ingredients, freshly prepared into interesting, sumptuous dishes. The food style is modern British, with some international twists. The dinning room features 2 stunning chandeliers amongst its many unique features. The service style includes a warm welcoming approach to fine dining. If you would like information or advice about any of our dishes, or our extensive wine list, feel free to ask, we are here to help.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Booked on line, could not have been simpler. We were visiting my Mother and we love to take her out for Sunday lunch. This is our first experience of the Crimble and went that bit extra for the Peacock Room, glad we did. Very inviting dining room, being greeted on arrival we were offered drinks and the menu's in the lounge. Orders taken and we were shortly taken to our table. We all ate from the Sunday lunch menu from starters to sweet the food was good and with service to match. Yes it is a little more expensive than some places for Sunday lunch but you do get what you pay for, and mums are to be looked after.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JDP99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Dear JDP99

Thank you for choosing to dine with us, we are delighted that you enjoyed your whole visit from reservation to farewell, we totally agree that Mums deserve something a little bit special and we look forward to seeing you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (316)
There are newer reviews for The Peacock Room
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

237 - 241 of 316 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

After looking at a few different options of where to go for my grandmas 89th birthday and wanting somewhere special,we decided on the crimble. Having not visited for a long time, we were not sure of the menu or the place itself. We booked the Peacock room, and we were glad we did.

The room itself is lovely, I have never been anywhere like it. The decor and detail in the room was very nice. The staff were all very helpful and very attentive.

We ordered off the Sunday lunch menu- 3 courses for £19.95, I wasn't sure what to expect for that price, but this was extremely good value for money! The food was very well presented and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

We were also allowed to bring a balloon and a birthday cake for my grandma which was lovely-the staff even joined in singing happy birthday which we didn't expect!!

Overall,I would recommend this restaurant to anyone, reading some of the reviews on here that weren't very positive, I am baffled at how they can find faults at this restaurant as we couldn't find one!!

Will deffinately be returning!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Hayleyg85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Hayleyg85

We are delighted you had such a good time at your grandma’s birthday and thank you for choosing us for your celebration. Your review has been fedback to the team and they are thrilled that they were able to add to the enjoyment of the occasion.

We very much look forward to welcoming you on your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We've not been here for a couple of years but did so for a celebratory meal with friends recently, it was perfect. Great menu choices and an excellent wine list. The service, ambience and food were just excellent and great value for money.

We will be returning soon to try out the Sunday lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Mazza-500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2013

Dear Mazza50

Thank you so much for your review, we are delighted you returned to us after not visiting for a while. Our Sunday lunch is excellent and great value, we also have the "Taste of the Peacock Room" menu which is also excellent quality and value. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was my first experience of The Peacock Room at The Crimble, some friends ate recently and suggested we give it a try. As we planned an Easter lunch with family we thought it would be a good location which is easy access for everyone with family travelling from various locations.
The restaurant setting is fabulous, I can completely understand why it’s a popular wedding venue especially if the great British weather is kind to you.
From arrival to leaving the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The decor is fabulous, fresh flowers all around, superb mirrored ceilings and chandeliers making it a stylish yet not overly opulent venue, it’s an ideal location for a special occasion or just a quiet intimate meal for two.
We had fifteen people in our party, all the courses arrived within a few moments each time ensuring we didn’t wait for the last person to be served while another plate went cold. The food was excellent with a clear attention to detail and great seasonal produce on offer. All of the dishes were freshly prepared, well seasoned and excellently presented. Having eaten in a number of local restaurants I have to say that The Peacock stands out for me and one that we will certainly be returning to before too long.
Fabulous food, great service and warm and welcoming staff – Thank you again..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Smudge43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Smudge43

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and a big thank you to your friends for the recommendation. David and his team work really hard on the restaurant presentation and he does the flowers personally, you should see what he can do for a wedding!! As for Rob and his team of talented chefs, they cook everything from the bread to the chocolates you get with coffee.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

As no-one was answering the telephone we decided to try and book on line. This is an impossible task and the web site leaves a lot to be desired. In this day and age where Restaurants are struggling I would have thought that having a user friendly web site with information and easy access to booking would be of paramount importance. Not impressed at all.
Shame as when we have been (booked by calling in) we have enjoyed the meal. But really frustrating and decided to go to Nutters instead, A lot easier to book a table

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank tinabfeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Peacock Room, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Tinabfeb

We sincerely apologies if you didn't find our website easy to use. There is a big oblong box on the lower right hand side of the peacock room home page which says on line bookings click here, this takes you through the booking process. We introduced this system to make it easy for our guests to book as on occasion when we are extremely busy we can't always get to the phone or if we are already on a call. We are delighted that you enjoy dining with us and are devastated that you didn't manage to make your booking. If you would like some assistance using the online booking system please contact the site direct and they will gladly talk you through it. The best time to call is during the day when our full time administrator is available

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Peacock Room also viewed

Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Peacock Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing