We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Meadow Cottage
Nearby Hotels
$112
$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Redhill House(Redhill)
$141
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
$94
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Winford Manor(Winford)
$106
$87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$92
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lyncombe Lodge Hotel & Restaurant(Churchill)(Great Value!)
$124
$120
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Penscot Inn(Shipham)
$107
$85
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (260)
Filter reviews
260 results
Traveler rating
114
65
38
27
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
65
38
27
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbristol airportfriendly dogscooked breakfastb bon arrivalcountry laneyogurtlarge gardenan early flightclose to the airportcomfy bedlovely rooma great nights sleeptea and coffee making facilitieswould definitely stay here againairport parkingfollowing morning
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
222 - 227 of 260 reviews
Reviewed June 20, 2010

The cottage is prefect, 5mins away from the airport. great value half the price of the hoilday inn and about 100x better. very homey, friendy staff. a simple breakfast is included and is all you need if you have an early flight. But if you big like me have the full english you wont be disappointed.
I think we paid 70 for the room, then my breakfast was 8.
The friendy couple arranged the transfer for us, and to our surprise we didnt have to pay for it. A*

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPOM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

This bed and breakfast is set in beautiful surroundings and the actual property itself is picture postcard perfect with huge oak beds, beams and modern fittings in the bathroom. The king bedroom is very grand and one of the comfiest beds I have slept in and the place has a lovely feel about it.
However I feel that commanding £100 per night , the expectation is of professional ersvice throughout and this is were this is sorely lacking. The young couple seemed like they were housesitting and appeard to hang around with their friends dropping by through out the day, if the owners make an effort to read all these poor reviews then they need to take action now. The continental breakfast was toast and cereal - not really acceptable and we decided not to pay them up front as requested as we didn't feel it necessary and also meant we could take off a day early.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraLaTrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2010

We booked this guest house off I Know Somerset website looking for one night accommodation as we were in Bristol the next day to view possible university accommodation. It was described as luxury B and B
There was nothing on the website to suggest anything unusual and it looked wonderful.
When we arrived we were met by a couple we assumed to be the owners - (turned out to be a managing couple) and were asked to pay cash (not cheque) up front. The reason we were given was that as it was near the airport they get a lot of people staying one night and leaving early. We thought this was a bit unnecessary as we were not leaving early but paid.
We were shown where breakfast would be laid out - we assumed buffet style but guessed it probably would not be a cooked breakfast which was oK but a bit disappointing.
The room was very nice clean and comfortable and we cannot complain about the accommodation. However we arrived down for breakfast the following morning to find a limited quantity of branflakes or cornflakes, 'packet' bread for toasting, some butter and 2 pots of jam (nearly finished) - no fruit juices - no fresh fruit - no yoghurts - no speciality breads - all of which could have been expected of a 'luxury' B and B offering only a continental breakfast.
Worst of all there was no one to assist us to give us new jam, provide sugar etc. After sometime the couple returned, by which time we had had to search the fridge and cupboards, and proceeded to complain that we had done so.
When I complained about the price and poor value they were very dismissive - said they did not set the prices and that there was no point in complaining to the owner as they were selling the property in a couple of months.
Well I hope this review is a word of caution to anyone wanting to stay at Meadow Cottage Guest House near Bristol in the near future. Lets hope new owners take over what is a lovely location and great house with lots of potential. It could have been so good!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicholasRichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2010

My Mom and Gran stayed at this guest house the night before a flight to Italy. When the taxi dropped them off they had to hunt for someone to check them in. Admittedly mom didn't read the small print so didn't realise you had to pay in cash. They were quite taken aback when asked to pay up front in cash on arrival. When Mom said they didn't have any cash they were told there was a cash point 3 miles up the road !! ( Gran is disabled)

They finally got this sorted and were then basically left. They never again saw another soul. When they got settled in the room they had a couple of questions about the kettle and TV. They couldnt find anyone to help. Neither got much sleep because they didn't feel very secure.
When they got up for the airport~ again not a soul around. Very poor/no service!!

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank redtruffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Relieved when we actually found the house, only thanks to the satnav, we were a bit taken aback to be asked for advanced payment as soon as we walked through the door and the charmless hosts had little other conversation. The house itself is in a pleasant setting and is well refurbished with mixture of modern fittings, equipment and antiques. Unfortunately there was no heating or hot water sufficiently early in the mornings to actually try the modern shower, nor is there a proper lock on the room door.
No sign of the hosts in the mornings, so breakfasts were a self service affair from a small and uninspired selection of 3 cereals and toast / jam, certainly not the “warm croissants, organic bread etc” mentioned in the publicity. Tea and coffee are available if you can find them in the kitchen, otherwise there is only orange juice.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peddlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews