We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good stay - lived up to expectations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Portishead Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portishead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2011

We stayed in a Premier Inn last year and found it to be streets ahead of its main budget hotel chain competitor. After such a favourable experience we were keen to try another Premier Inn to see if they were all as good - and so booked this stay, a one night family trip away for Mother's Day. I was a little worried it would not live up to expectation but it did.

The location is ideal for Bristol, Bath, the M5 and the Somerset coast. As with most Premier Inns, it's in an out of town location, on a roundabout on the edge of town - not very scenic! We didn't venture into Portishead town so can't comment on how near it is, or how nice it is.

The room was bland but spacious and clean. One little niggle was the lack of a central room light - only side lamps - no good if you were wanting to do paperwork. Bathroom was very clean though the cold tap needed attention as would not turn off completely. Plenty of towels, plenty of storage, good quality clean bedding, comfortable beds, a good shower and plenty of warm water - what more could you need?

In the evening we ate in the adjoining Brewers Fayre restaurant. It was very busy – locals and fellow P Inn guests and the service was very slow, though we were warned about this before ordering. The food was pretty good on the whole and staff very friendly, but what made it for our children was the supervised indoor soft play area – the wait for the food didn’t matter at all as the kids were having a great time and we were enjoying a rare bit of time relaxing as a couple.

Breakfast was the usual excellent Premier Inn quality and variety. Excellent value, especially as two children can eat free if an adult purchases a cooked breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florajay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

790 - 796 of 799 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2010

As with all Premier Inn's you know what you are going to get, decent size room, crisp bedding, good bathroom, bland decor, and good carparking. Our room and bathroom were in excellent condition, and a fan was provided to help with the heat (it was about 21 deg during the day) however despite the fan the room was like a sauna... with no fresh cool air, which made trying to sleep a bit difficult. Also, the bed was starting to get a bit lumpy, and was ready for a new matteress. Breakfast was OK, although croissants looked a bit sad and only 2 muffins left when we arrived. Despite the negative comments, the chain does offer good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tabitha67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Portishead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2010

Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoy staying with Premier Inn however apologise for the issues you faced at Portishead. Once again thank you for your review, we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Pretty much a standard Premier Inn. Nice big room, comfy bed, clean and tidy as you’d expect. The heating is adjustable and you can open the window. The pub next door servers nice bar meals at a fare price in a laid back, friendly atmosphere; although the service was a bit slow. Individually cooked breakfast (not a buffet which was a big plus). All in all this hotel is unremarkable but as such was pretty faultless for the money. I’d stay again no problem.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wardster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Portishead Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2009

Thanks for your review. At Premier Inn we endeavour to provide the best value quality stay. We are so pleased to hear that our clean comfortable rooms and restaurant and breakfast facilities met your expectations and your stay with us was a comfortable one. Once again thank you for you review we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Love nearby town of Portishead, lots of independant shops and quite quirky. Premier Inn conveniently located off M5, just past Bristol. Great base to see Bristol and travel over Clifton suspension bridge. Rooms where clean, spacious, quiet and practical. Would have given a 5 star rating but staff though not obtructive, where just plain miserable and matter of fact, and breakfast not availble passed 930 which was not great when you have been drving late at night and need a lie in.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyofthree_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

A very nice hotel with great customer service. Rooms are very large with a big comfy bed. The fan in the room was very nice to see as I like to be cool and hotel rooms can often be too warm and stuffy. The people on reception were very friendly and professional.
The restaurant is bolted onto the side and is part of the Brewers Fayre chain. Again customer service was excellent and the food was fantastic.
Breakfast was as much as you can eat and cooked to perfection.
I can highly recommend this hotel and will certainly be staying again when I'm next down Bristol-way.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattlincs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights as we were meeting friends who had a boat moored at the marina. The standard of greeting at reception was better than I have experienced even in 5 star hotels. The room itself was spotless and large. Surprisingly, shower gel was provided, not always expected in a so-called budget hotel. There was also tea/coffee provided and a much needed fan, as it was rather warm. We had dinner in the Brewers Fayre attached to the hotel. The food was superb, again not always the case in such places, and the service was amazing. We did not try the breakfast but it looked excellent value for £7.95, all you can eat. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebnMartMidGlamorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2008

We stayed in this hotel in January and found it to be very good for the price. Our room was a good size and very clean. The breakfast was also very good and the staff were helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cathymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portishead
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Portishead
Travelodge Portishead
#1 of 2 in Portishead
674 reviews
4.6 mi away
Best Western Walton Park Hotel
5.9 mi away
Warrens Village
Warrens Village
#2 of 2 in Clevedon
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Days Inn Bristol M5
Days Inn Bristol M5
#1 of 1 in Easton-in-Gordano
700 reviews
5.9 mi away
Best Western Henbury Lodge Hotel
6.7 mi away
The Washington
The Washington
#28 of 39 in Bristol
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portishead Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portishead Hotel

Address: Wyndham Way | Portishead, Portishead BS20 7GA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Portishead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Portishead
Price Range: $60 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portishead Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A short walk from Portishead Quays Marina and an easy drive to Bristol and Cribbs Causeway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Portishead Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portishead Hotel Portishead
Premier Inn Portishead Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing