We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the childs play area at all costs.”

Brewers Fayre Gordano Gate
Ranked #30 of 43 Restaurants in Portishead
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Portishead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid the childs play area at all costs.”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I live near to this pub and it used to be a favourite haunt of my now 6yr old as the soft play WAS nice, supervised and clean.... and this is a big emphasis on the word "WAS".

I was delighted when both my kids (6 and 20 months) were invited to a party there in mid December 2012, however.. while the pub may hit the spot for food, the party and childrens area is a health hazard and potentially a death trap.

The staff - when present in the area (about 50% of 2hours I was there) - were too busy chatting to each other, then one disappeared and didn't bother returning leaving the other to deal with a party requirements and the other kids on her own. She didn't bother supervising - or dealing with any of the older kids who were unsupervised by their absent parents who were in the bar.

There were GLASS drinking glasses left on a table for the entire 2 hours we were there, no tables were cleaned or cleared... and no effort was made to tell the parents not to bring glasses into the childrens area whatsoever.

Service with a smile would also be a good laugh in this place as the poor girl couldn't look more depressed.

General Cleaniless - Well you could ask "when was this place last cleaned"... carpet was sticky, the ball pit balls had dirt caked on to them, they cleared hadn't bothered cleaning this area for quite a while... months I would say.

Condition of the play equipment - Lack of balls in the ball pit, no more than 1 layer in the toddler pit and most had been thrown outside of it or were filthy. No balls left in the older childrens ball pit under 1 of the slides apart from what the kids had taken in.

The slide however seemed cleaner than the rest, but tbh that wouldn't be hard to achieve considering the kids cleaning it on their way down.

Great deal of dust behind the play equipment.

Old abandoned tv/video combi in the corner which my 20month old wanted to play with and other kids were poking their fingers into... potential health risk there.

Lego table with no lego in the corner, netting also broken, saw one child trying to stick his head up through the hole... WHOOPS.

My son wanted me to go up on the play equipment with him so his little brother could go down the slide, big sign warned "parents not allowed"... but no way was my 20 month old who is technically tall enough to satisify their requirements to go up going up on his own in a 3 storey play area.... so off up the ramp we climbed... came to a rope tight-rope/bridge sort of thing, which is supposed to have netting underneath, well the netting was broke/ripped away in at least 3 spaces which would have allowed my son to easily break a leg or worse had I not had hold of his hand.

The toddler area is also a total farce... since when is an under 2 yr old who can walk satisfied with a ball pit with no balls in it....

The room also has some of those money making toy machines, none of which are covering up the plugs or un used plug holes.

Food - never had a problem with the kids party food, or the food in the main pub before, have always liked both.... but maybe just coincidence, maybe a mixture of the food, or maybe just the general hygiene the place was lacking but both my youngest who ate a good portion of each of the foods had D&V the following day.

We will definitely not be going back there again, and would say to anyone thinking of eating here, you are better off at other local soft plays, or fast food takeaways.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    67
    73
    64
    64
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bollington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Premier Inn Pub”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is attached to a premier inn. It is not the most awe inspiring food (it is a chain pub) but the staff are friendly and helpful, which makes the difference. It is clean and well kept, tables were cleared promptly even when they were very busy.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor Quality and Overpriced”
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We visited Gordano Gate on a Sunday Lunchtime, we were seated quickly and informed about the 2/3 course carvery option and the menu options. On this particular day there were no jacket potatoes or baguettes available so menu choice was limited. We were told the carvery was a 2 course fixed price starter and main, none of the party wanted a starter but there was no option for main/dessert or just main course but considering the starters were soup or salad we had no option but to pay for 2 courses even though we didn't want a starter, a strange policy I think! The meat on the carvery looked very unappetising, it looked as though it had been sat there for hours and was particularly tough and dry and the veg was overcooked. The staff were friendly and helpful and very accommodating but the food was poor and for the one course we actually had was expensive, I will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, but choose where you sit carefully”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Visit usually on Friday night, with three grandchildren who use the soft play, To keep proper eye we sit by glass partition, can be noisy as most parents/grandparent do same, so be prepard for lots of children running round. If you want quiet sit well away from soft play area, where it much quieter. Food quality is good as is the value, and they keep a decent pint. Enjoy

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“dont go there”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

went 2 weeks today with two disabled friends had terrible service although we booked a table online no table was available had to cram onto a table for 3.After ordering no jacket potato available so had to change to rice,meals came and two of the four had to be returned the chicken was under cooked these meals didnt return untill after the other two meals had been finished.Left feedback that night no response from company sent emails to whitbread who responed once saying the manager would contact me but no response.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muffie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brewers Fayre Gordano Gate also viewed

 
Portishead, Somerset
Portishead, Somerset
 
Portishead, Somerset
Portishead, Somerset
 

Been to Brewers Fayre Gordano Gate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing