We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Quality Food and Formal Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bottelino's

Bottelino's
Ranked #7 of 42 Restaurants in Portishead
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A favourite Italian proverb is "A tavola non si invecchia" - at the table one does not age - so relaxed meals are the key to a long life. That's a proverb that we hold onto at Bottelino's, traditional Italian resturants. You will find our menus are a wide choice of traditional dishes as well as popular classics like Pizza and Pasta ideal for a lazy lunch or evening out with friends. Check our Facebook pages for all the news, latest offers and events at your local Bottelino's.
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Quality Food and Formal Service”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Went here with our kids on a wild windy night before Christmas, more out of convenience than anything else as we staying in the Travelodge 200 meters away.

First and foremost I am sure on a lovely's summers evening with the sunlight reflecting off the water this would be a lovely place to be, but the sparse white decor was a little harsh on a winters evening. This was softened however by the projection of a fire on one of the walls.

The staff were very smartly dressed, polite and professional, but I would say a little formal and may be forced in their delivery, may that's just a bit picky?

The food was tasty and good quality, not the best pizza I've had, but a country mile better than the larger chain restaurants, apart from Pizza Express. Had a lovely bottle of red that went well with our food and every one was happy. As far as value for money was concerned I guess it was ok.

Would I come again? Yes probably

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guigal9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, Guest Relations Manager at Bottelino's, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review. It is a lovely fire we agree, glad you felt it contributed to the ambiance.
We are pleased that you enjoyed your meal and wine and we hope to give you a less formal welcome on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    143
    74
    45
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really Good Food and Service”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Really good value lunchtime offer took parents and three kids, and had lovely food, the place was full of families. Very accomodating I count decide between a hot and spicy or Calzone, and they suggest combine the two at no cost! thoroughly recomend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank haddons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, Guest Relations Manager at Bottelino's, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review it is much appreciated.
We are proud to be one of the best and most popular destinations for families to come and gather in relaxed surroundings.
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit with us and that we were able offer you such a tasty option for your pizza - all credit to our great team.
We look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Nice clean restaurant but lots of children and very noisy. Excellent if you go before 6.30 its really cheap

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kirsty217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, Guest Relations Manager at Bottelino's, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review, it is appreciated.
We agree it is a lovely clean restaurant and yes we are also very popular with families which we are very proud of; maybe pop in a bit later on your next visit when they have all gone to bed although you will miss out on the offers there are usually some fantastic specials to delight you with instead.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best chicken caesar salad”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Made a solo early evening visit to this restaurant. Staff made me feel welcome and were efficient throughout the meal. Tried the new chicken caesr salad on the menu as my main course, and was impressed. Really good compared with other chain restaurants - lots of chunky, juicy chicken. Received an early evening price offer on the meal which made it very good value indeed. A satisfied customer food and price wise. Wine a bit pricey but this is in line with other restaurants on the Marina. Only warning for adults is that this restaurant is popular for children's birthday parties in the early evening, so there can be unwelcome noise of kids shouting and running around in quite an echoey dining area. If you're coming to relax after a stressful day at work, you may want to defer till after 7pm ... but then you'd miss out on the price offer.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AngelaandRoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, Guest Relations Manager at Bottelino's, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us, it is much appreciated.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed you Ceasar salad, chef will be delighted!
Good tip re the children's parties but like you say a shame to miss out on the special offer - phew thankfully we don't have to make the decision on that one!
We look forward to welcoming you back soon we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lunch with friends”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We decided to try this restaurant today as we were meeting up with old friends who live nearby. We hesitated about going in as they had only just opened at mid day and it was empty. I'm very glad we did as the staff were welcoming and before long the restaurant was nearly full. We had the lunchtime special price menu which was fabulous value. Must say we were very impressed with all the staff who were attentive and professional. Next time we are in Portishead we will look forward to eating there again. Many thanks.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanda K, Guest Relations Manager at Bottelino's, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent experience with us it is very much appreciated.
I am pleased that we were able to surprise and delight you and that you enjoyed your lunch experience with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bottelino's also viewed

Portishead, Somerset
Portishead, Somerset
 
Portishead, Somerset
Weston-in-Gordano, Portishead
 

Been to Bottelino's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing