We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great party...awful breakfast!”
Review of King's Croft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Croft Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pontefract
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We held a famly reunion here at the weekend & have mixed feelings about the hotel.
The Party - great atmosphere due to a busy room and excellent band. The DJ was also great & had us dancing until the end.
The food - the party food was plentiful, simple roast done well with generous portions. The breakfast however...appauling! Not only was the whole thing self service - the staff can't even pour you a fresh pot of tea, but the standard of the food was terrible. The eggs rubbery, beans cold & cheap, bacon all over cooked & everything drippig in grease. After a good party night you need a good breakfast to set you up for the day...not here! The orange juice was Asda smart price (openly filled up in plain view). Very sad.
The room - looked lovely but far too hot & only a door to let the air in so no window available. Having looked everywhere for heating controls we finally found them in the skirting board.
Staff - the most disappointing part was the lack of personality from any staff - there were no pleasantries - all faceless zombies.

If the party hadn't been so good due to a cracking back & great crowd plus a full belly it would have been a huge disappointment.

Room Tip: We only saw our room & the bridal suite - this looked lovely with a massive four poster.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PocketRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 261 reviews

Reviewed November 19, 2013

This was our second visit in just over a month, the first visit was excellent the second was good but the let down was the reception and room. The room was ok until the next morning when we tried to use the shower and no water came out until 10 minutes later and there was a fan that started up at 5.30am that woke me up. The food was excellent both breakfast and dinner.
We will go back but will avoid that room, we will ask for one of the new bungalow rooms we had last time they were great.

Room Tip: choose one of the new bungalows they are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tetley1455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We recently got married and Kings Croft - one word AMAZING. The food is to die for, nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff, including the owner, and everything was exactly as we planned it, and every little detail we wanted just happened. We would totally recommend anyone considering Kings Croft for any kind of function, including the best day of your lives. The bedrooms are also very clean, comfortable and has everything you could want. Bridal suite is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

If you want to good night sleep!! I arrived at the hotel and the entrance was packed with a wedding reception, I meandered my way through and was shown to my room. Exceptionally clean and plenty of space and I have only good things to say about my room, the bed was as good as home, in the evening I had a beer in the bar, nightmare, wedding reception bounding out of one room and a kids party from the other bouncing in the middle!! I then went to my room and all night I could hear was either the music, DJ, men's loo door or hand wash machine until I slept at some ungodly hour. If the hotel had said this could be a problem I wouldn't have booked as I need a fresh early start. A massive let down and although I mentioned it to the girl on reception I doubt anything will change. The owner certainly wasn't interested. Breakfast was ok with excellent service. What a shame the hotel let itself down as it could have been really good....

Room Tip: Avoid any room when a wedding is on!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The booking system for this hotel is seriously flawed, their customer service at reception is impersonal but their food is good.
I booked for two nights 3 months ago for my brother's wedding which was actually at the hotel. A week before the day, I phoned the hotel to check my booking only to be told I was not booked in for the first night. They did book me into the Kyte (please see my other review) at my own expense and offered me an early check-in so I could still get ready for the wedding.
When I arrived with my husband and two children for our early check-in I was told the room wasn't ready. It still wasn't ready half an hour before the wedding! We weren't even offered a complimentary drink at the bar. Not even an apology. I had to ask to use another wedding guest's room. When we did gain access to our room, it was made up for two; not four. Another trip to reception...again no apology or attempt to recompense. Poor. I refused to allow this to ruin my brother's wedding for me (despite having already shed tears) and I resolved to explain my dissatisfaction at check-out. So, after a really lovely breakfast the following morning, I went to check out. The receptionist didn't even get eye contact with me. She shoved my bill in front of me and answered an external call! She did not ask me if I enjoyed my stay (my cue to explain), nor did she apologise for their list of mistakes. Had the Kings Croft made any attempt to put things right for me, I would not be complaining in this forum. Shame on them.
*please note the burnt egg in my profile picture is not from this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms seem comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReidsNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Communication on the run up to wedding was fantastic putting us totally at ease, reassured that everything was under control. Staff couldn't do enough to help us especially myself who the owner, Shaun had described as "The most nervous groom he had ever met" My wife and I would especially like to thank Richard who we feel went above and beyond the duties expected of him to make our day so, so special.
Loads of our guests have fed back to us how impressed they were with the food and hospitality provided some older members of our family going as far as to state ours was the best wedding they have ever attended .
.Thank you again for being so flexible in helping us create our dream wedding .

Room Tip: No family members made any complaints or negative remarks about any room they stayed in on attending...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

My partner and I stayed overnight whilst visiting family, beautiful hotel and gardens, clean room, absolutely gorgious breakfast, just far too big. Definatly worth the money and will certainly stay again. The thing that made it for us, was the chat we had with Brenda at breakfast, she was very professional and personable at the same time, definatly an assert to the business, Thankyou so much :)

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrissyGuisborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontefract
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
3.6 mi away
Wentbridge House Hotel
Wentbridge House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wentbridge
1,019 reviews
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Pontefract Ferrybridge A1/M62
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
995 reviews
2.9 mi away
Good Night Inns Darrington Hotel
1.3 mi away
Rolands Croft Guest House
Rolands Croft Guest House
#3 of 3 in Pontefract
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Croft Hotel

Address: Wakefield Road, Pontefract WF8 4HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Pontefract
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pontefract
Price Range: $96 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King's Croft Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King's Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing