We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed for one night in January”
Review of King's Croft Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King's Croft Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pontefract
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed one night in Jan, room 4, which had two single beds, a double an a shower room. Room had seen better days, one socket and one light not working. Also, kept waking up throughout the night as there was some sort of generator/air con that came on at regular intervals. Place was clean, and looks great from the outside, breakfast was OK. Would stay again, but prices might put us off.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeds99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 271 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed for one night over the festive period and what a beautiful hotel. Confortable rooms with flat screen tv's and tea and coffee making facilities. A cooked breakfast was included in the price of the room booking! The only criticism (which perhaps we should have checked prior to booking) is that the hotel has a couple of large function rooms and there was a big party on the night we were visiting and I think we were directly above the DJ and music by the sound of it!! To be expected though considering the time of year. The music stopped at 1am and we able to get a good nights sleep. Would stay again.

Room Tip: I should imagine all rooms are affected by the noise/music coming from the function rooms below till...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chungy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Poky small room. Kettle too big to fill from the miniscule washbasin. Shower non-functioning, and no shaver point. Cheaper than a budget hotel, but the only thing going for it was the food in the restaurant

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We visited the hotel for my daughters wedding and it was the perfect choice of hotel! We only stayed the night but we were pleased by the service. The food we had was a banquet and the carved meat was succulent and juicy. However in the early hours of the morning, our family were awoke by an alarm clock, which was set for 3:00am!

Room Tip: Big windows in the summer make the rooms warmer throughout the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed there as a family of four adults and booked into The Suite which was billed as two beds - two baths. But no second bathroom. Reception helpful in providing a second bedroom at no extra price, but it went down hill from there. The restaurant was closed for a function both for the evening meal and breakfast, which was served in the bar/lobby area. The heating system is clearly inadequate because rooms have at least two portable heaters to keep the cold at bay. Faded decorations, holes in the walls where picture hooks had been, badly tiled bathroom AND NO PLUG. There was a time when every-one seemed to nick the sink/bath plugs and I took to carrying a spare in my toilet bag. Luckily it was stillo there otherwise the wet shave would have been a challenge. But worst of all was the sleep quality - room 4 (The Suite) echoed throughout the night from a fan/pump switching on and off - and then we found there was no telephone in the room to contact the night staff. The evening meal was OK, although the 16oz rump steak turned out to be 2 x 8oz steaks piled on top of each other. The cooked breakfast was rather dry. In short, you will probably have a great wedding/funeral reception - but this is not the class hotel it advertising itself for a leisure break.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevebeedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

easy access from A1 & M62, plenty of free parking. food excellent, especially breakfasts. staff helpful and friendly, very reasonable for the two night stay. Downside don't think i'd like to stay there on a wedding night if i wasn't one of the guests, but i was & it was great.

Room Tip: best in the main house at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeessideTawnyowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

What a Great day. Kings Croft was the perfect venue. From start to finish they did everything they could to make the day memorable. The ceremony itself was beautiful, the food was exceptional. We had the hog roast plus various other dishes all equally as good. We were undecided about having a toast master, but we are so glad that we did. He was excellent; and made all the proceedings flow effortlessly.
To sum up, anyone looking for a wedding venue could not do better than Kings Croft.
All our thanks to the management and staff.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pontefract
3.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Rogerthorpe Manor Hotel
3.6 mi away
Wentbridge House Hotel
Wentbridge House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Wentbridge
1,042 reviews
8.6 mi away
Thorpe Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Castleford (Xscape, M62 J32) Hotel
1.6 mi away
Tower House
Tower House
#1 of 3 in Pontefract
107 reviews
3.8 mi away
Redbeck Motel
Redbeck Motel
#16 of 19 in Wakefield
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Croft Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Croft Hotel

Address: Wakefield Road, Pontefract WF8 4HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Pontefract
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Pontefract
Price Range: $96 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — King's Croft Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your King's Croft Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing