We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Surprise”
Review of Shurma

Shurma
Ranked #15 of 109 Restaurants in Pontefract
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surprise”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I decided on a mid week treat and after reading the reviews on here we decided to vary our usual curry establishment (just down the road) and try Shurma. The other half was a little sceptical as he is a big fan of the place down the road. We were astounded how busy the place was for a Wednesday but they managed to squeeze us in. We then found that Wednesday is a special offer night with 4 courses for £8.95!!

The other half was even more sceptical that the food would be good at these prices but we ordered from the menu. Lots of choice available even on the deal.

The raita with the poppadoms was lovely to start with and the starters were beautiful. Fresh tasty and did not seem like something from a special offer menu.

The main courses again were lovely. Not scrimped on the portions and very flavourful. Rice and naan are included in the meal to mop up the lovely sauces.

I was full to the brim but a bit of ice cream or coffee could finish your meal if you fancy.

I was very imoressed with the courteous and attentive staff and lovely food and my partner even had to admit begrudgingly it was very very good and rivals his favourote other curry house not too far away so that is great praise indeed.

Well worth a visit but try and book if its a wednesday or sunday.

Thank you

Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    7
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I must have been an a bad night”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

I had a takeaway here a couple of weeks ago after reading the rave reviews on Tripadvisor, but I have to say it was nothing more than average, I have eaten much better than this locally.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Indian in a long time.”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Having had 2 takeaways from here in previous weeks, we decided to visit the restaurant. We were not disappointed. The food is excellent & the service outstanding. The restaurant is spotless & tastefully decorated. Prices are very reasonable & you take your own alcohol. It's taken a long time to find a curry as good as this.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“excellent value for money”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

went on a sunday evening when they have the offer on 3 or 4 courses I think it is for £9.95 and it takes some beating. massive portion sizes excellent service. efficient, always go the extra mile to cater for your needs. added bonus can also take own drinks in aswell so cuts the cost down. 4 of us ate and was less then £40 and virtually rolled out of the door. unbeatable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Chrisdawson93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I took the family to this restaurant on Saturday and don't know why we did not come sooner, the place was not too busy and we were nicely welcomed as we walked through the door. We were offered any table of our choice that wasn't taken and were given ample time to settle in and choose our meals. The meal itself was fantastic, I rate it as one of the best Indians I've had for a long time, another good point was you were able to take your own drinks which cut the cost of the bill down by a considerable amount. All of the staff that we spoke to were all friendly and courteous.
We will definitely be going back soon.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WakefieldSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shurma also viewed

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Hemsworth, Pontefract
 
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Castleford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Shurma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing