We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice compact race course”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pontefract Races

Pontefract Races
Ranked #2 of 20 things to do in Pontefract
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Shipley
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Nice compact race course”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Nice and compact - really good view of winning line and the horses seemed very close. Enjoyable evening - did red shirt night meeting. Not sure of what the food was like, didn't see many people with food. Drinks were quite expensive. There are plenty of amenities and well organised. The bar through the tunnel in the tent was easier to use than the building where it was five deep. All in all, a very good place. Liked it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawnie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    65
    18
    4
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Penryn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First timers”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Went to races at Pontefract for the first time had a brilliant day ,easy to get to plenty of parking great fun

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great evening race meeting”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The company I work for booked our annual conference at Pontefract. So we had our conference sessions during the day followed by dinner and racing. The meal was a set menu but was much better that other similar events I have been to. The service was fantastic, the staff polite and a great evening of racing.

Helpful?
Thank DeeVincentDay
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“An afternoon at the races”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Had a great time here with some friends. Very friendly place. Small visitor area for racing which I liked. All in all a really good experience. When the races are not on lots of people like to walk around the track, lots of dog walking and running going on. There is also a park are adjacent to the racecourse and with a small lake and a kids playground.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Been to Pontefract races a few times, its nice in the family ring to take the kids along, i like to go on Ladies day, its a nice day in August to get all dolled up, the atmosphere is brilliant and if you have a little win it adds to the enjoyment of the day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank granshaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pontefract Races also viewed

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 
Castleford, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Pontefract Races? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing