We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a memory revisited”
Review of Pontefract Castle

Pontefract Castle
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Pontefract
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“a memory revisited”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

i played here as a child , the memories came flooding back .
a piece of wood was my sword and a dustbin lid my shield ,
just the simple games kids played back then , imagine my delight when i saw two children with mum and dad , armed with two plastic swords , one a cavalier , the other a round head , .

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank darren746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    73
    24
    8
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Pontefract Castle”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Sadly there is not much left of Pontefract Castle.The area around the castle is pleasant enough but unless you are a history buff it isn't really worth travelling a long distance for a visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Live in Pontefract for 25 years”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We lived in Pontefract for 25 years and I think it was more than year ago and I didnt know where it was, found it but it was ok and understand for the history which is good for the school.

Helpful?
1 Thank amanda227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Get together with friends!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

A good value for money, tasty meal in a lovely environment with helpful, friendly staff. Have been on a few occasions now using it as a half way meeting place for friends who live in Braham, Pontefract, Castleford, Crofton and Wentbridge. Remember it is a BYO.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Um?”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Not much left really ... but it was free!
The printed info, again free, was very good as it did help to fill in the gaps as it were and there was a lot of gaps .. excuse the pun.
Built on a high mound you get amazing views over the surrounding area.
You can walk freely arond the site and if you time it right for the guided tours, for which there is a small charge, you can go down into the cellars.
Nice sheltered area if you fancied a picnic.
Good afternoon out.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank No1silversurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pontefract Castle also viewed

Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
Pontefract, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Pontefract Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing