We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub/restaurant”

Chilli Banana Thai Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 88 Restaurants in Wilmslow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $58
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: May's home Thai cooking - quality Thai cooking served in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere. Winner Best International Cuisine South Manchester at the 2015 Eat, Drink, Sleep Awards.
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great pub/restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

Not knowing the area we went on colleagues recommendation - had a few drinksin The Kings Arms pub (attached to restaurant) - nice atmosphere in both pub and restaurant. Food EXCELLENT and not to pricey. Most of staff are Thai, which adds to authentic feel. Very busy so advisable to book. Already planning another visit

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    133
    63
    31
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Food & staff excellent but portions far to small for the price you pay!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

We went on a recommendation from a friend and what a good recommendation. We rang the Chilli Banana 20 minutes before we wanted to come and they had a table available. We arrived and were greeted very pleasantly but nice smiley Thai & English staff. We ordered drinks and decided on a banquet as it just seemed easier as we had the 2 children with us. We ordered the expensive banquet at £31 per head but just ordered 2 as we thought the children could just share ours. The food arrived and tasted very nice indeed. The banquet consisted of 2 separate starters both consisting of 2 – 3 plates of different food. The main was a choice of 3 mains out of six listed, all of them were delicious. We then had a couple of deserts between the four of us and a tea & coffee. The deserts were not included in the price of the banquet. Overall the food was lovelly from start to finish but my wife who has the smaller appetite out of the two of us was still hungry on the way home. Food & staff excellent but portions far to small for the price you pay!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Byrnefamilyfoodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
158 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great banquet, very good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

I have been to the Chilli Banana a number of times in the past, but it's been a few years since my last visit.

With this in mind, my revisit was edged with a certain amount of trepidation in case it had declined over the years. I needn't have worried .

A couple of friends of mine and I went there a couple of weeks ago. One friend went for a choice off the A La Carte menu, whilst the other friend and I chose to share the banquet.

The Connoiseur's Banquet consists of two starter courses and a choice of thee main courses from a selection of six. We chose the steamed seabass, 'Muslem' curry and 'Drunken' stir fried chicken..

The first course of starters arrived in the form of a selection of sirloin steak strips, grilled king prawns, mini Thai spring rolls and fried cat fish and we tucked in. Everything was cooked perfectly and we were checked up on to make sure everything was okay.

The second starter course arrived and, once again it was a platter. This comprised of fresh scallops with chilli, spare ribs in ginger, chicken and beef in crispy lemongrass and tempura king prawns. Again, we fell on them with gusto and were soon gone.

The main courses we chose arrived next, accompanied with creamed fragrant rice and sweet crispy noodles. By the time we finished this we were replete and considering our dessert options. Unfortunately we were too full to take advantage of the sweets choice,not even the chilli banana or sweet chocolate spring rolls could tempt us.

After coffee, we departed. The cost of the food was quite reasonable compared to other Thai restaurants that I have visited and the service was excellent.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MalvolioCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester Uk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Superb Thai meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

Attended the chilli banana in Wilmslow, and really enjoyed the whole experience. Primarily the restaurant is attached to a traditional Robinson's pub, serving real ale and more at reasonable prices, you can open your tab in the pub, then carry on to the restaurant. The food was great, we went for one of the banquets and all of the food exceeded our expectations. Great service and will definitely go back

  • Visited June 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 51-John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely fab”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

First time we have dined Thai and what a really nice surprise. After the twenty mile drive to the restaurant we arrived at 7:20 on a Friday night. We were met by a smiling receptionist (and John), there was no waiting around and we were invited to go to our table even though we were 10 minutes early. The dining area is well lit with plenty of natural light from the large windows to both sides of the room. We sat in a booth loooking out to the entrance to the Kings Arms pub that is attached to the restaurant. What's really surprising is the number of people collecting take-away's, it was a very good indicator of the quality of food to expect.
As it was our first Thai experience we looked to our host John for menu guidance and settled on the Special Banquet, the waiting-on staff were all immaculate and their manners impeccable. The five starters, with spicy Thai prawn crackers were just enough to give you a taste of the level of spice and texture that we now know is part of Thai cuisine. We were given plenty of time to relax and savour our starter before being offered the main course. For this we chose Pla Kratiem (Catfish), Gaeng Keo Wan Gei (Thai green Curry) and Nua Sawan (Beef). The meals were accompanied by steamed rice, the portions were ample for two and we had no trouble clearing the delicious dishes. We decided not to have a dessert and finished with a pot of Jasmine tea each. All in all we spent 90 minutes in a really nice, clean, calm environment, being served by staff that anybody would be proud of. I have already recommended this restaurant to friends and colleagues and will certainly be visiting again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Getawaydriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chilli Banana Thai Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Chilli Banana Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing