We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Heatherlea Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Heatherlea Guest House
Ranked #1 of 7 Wilmslow B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2014 via mobile

Booked at last minute and was lucky to get a room. Although in a residential area the setting is amazing. Large well kept garden, clean rooms and very friendly owners. The guy who greeted me was the jolly landlord type and carried my bag to my room. Nice touch. Breakfast was plentiful and the guest house is a short walk into Wilmslow where there are plenty of decent bars and restaurants. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    31
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
51
25
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Really enjoyed my stay in this guest house. Good value for money, clean and spacious with a wonderful private lawn to relax in. Breakfast was top notch and we received service with a smile. Big recommend!

Room Tip: Good family room for 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Heatherlea Guest House for one night before we flew off on our honeymoon. It was very easy to communicate and book a room via email. Run by 2 sisters, Diane and Marjorie, nothing was too much trouble. We both had a very warm welcome, and the sisters were very helpful and efficient with payment and giving us directions to the town (about a 15-20 minute walk), so very close to local restaurants and shops. The room we were staying in was very comfortable and homely, with a lovely ensuite bathroom, television and a view of their beautiful garden. Our room and bathroom was spotlessly clean and we couldn't have asked for a more comfortable bed. They organised a taxi for us for the next morning, who were also very efficient and friendly. Unfortunately, due to our very early flight, we were unable to have breakfast at Heatherlea so are unable to comment on this. We left our car at Heatherlea Guest House for 15 days (for a small reasonable cost) as we had travelled from Bristol. When we arrived back from our Honeymoon my car wouldn't start. It was no trouble for Diane and Marjorie (and their husbands) to help us with this and jump start my car. Overall, we had a lovely relaxing stay before our long flight, and we would definitely recommend this Guest House to others, and we will certainly be returning! Thank you both. Heather & Michella.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzyfuzzyfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ken481
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights.
Room: Very Clean, Nice furniture, coffee and tea, Nice shower. Hot water and good heating. Magnificent views of the back yard garden. No Wardrobe so if you will be staying for a long time you don't have space to organise your clothes.
Breakfast - very good
Staff - Above excellent hospitality
Parking - available for your car
Area - very quite, only few cars pass from the road in front.
Free wifi

Would definitely recommend to friends and family. Keep it up, you made our stay enjoyable

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed one night prior to flying home from Manchester. Easy to find with GPS but off the main roads. Hosts were friendly. Room faced peaceful back garden and was quiet. Front rooms might be noisier over carpark and facing the road. Breakfast room faces front and was clean, bright and well appointed. Breakfast was a treat. We should have asked our hosts for more local information as local amenities were a car drive away, as opposed to a walk. There was little local information in the room. Beds and ensuite were clean and adequate. Coffee, tea-making and biscuits were provided. Price was competitive for the area. Would stay here again for short stay. Might look farther afield if a long stay was called for.

Room Tip: Garden view at back was very relaxing while having tea after 4 hour drive to reach Wilmslow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

I booked this place on the strength of all the 5 star reviews on TripAdvisor and to be honest, I cant see why the place is rated so highly. The owners were very friendly, so I have to assume it was that.

However, we were in Room 6, a twin en-suite room and my first impressions were less than good. It was clean, but all the furnishings were cheap white flat pack and the room was fairly noisy. Reason for the noise is because its facing a road which is about 20' away from the bedroom window. That and that it's door and the doors of all the other rooms on the floor open onto the same small hallway. This meant whenever anyone went in or out of their room we heard them and we were also kept awake by someone's TV in one of the rooms. Later in the night a taxi? pulling up woke us as there is no double glazing. Bed wasn't the most comfy and the shower took its time warming up and sprayed over the shower screen until I cleaned the shower jets.

Breakfast was good (though they ran out of the vegetarian option).

Overall, I'd say it was a decidedly average place with friendly owners and it was clean. I thought it was a bit overpriced, but I guess that is due to the area (Manchester Airport).

Room Tip: Avoid room 6 (twin ensuite) as its nearest the road and noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Very welcoming hosts, clean room and ensuite and a smashing breakfast. Can't give 5 stars though as the double bed was very lumpy, which rather spoilt sleep. Oh and the sliding ensuite door doesn't close completely, leaving a bit if a gap! This was Room 9. Otherwise perfect for our needs!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
1.0 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Handforth) Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Stanneylands - TEMPORARILY CLOSED
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (Heald Green) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heatherlea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heatherlea Guest House

Property: Heatherlea Guest House
Address: 106 Lacey Green, Wilmslow SK9 4BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Heatherlea Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing