We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“These are a bunch of crooks”
Review of The Wilmslow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wilmslow Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We booked (by telephone) two rooms for two nights and when we arrived were told they had no booking for us. But they did have rooms, so we stayed and paid by credit card. When our credit card bill arrived, weeks later, we found they had charged us an extra night (for two rooms) for the night BEFORE we arrived. As well as (of course) the two nights we did book and did stay. We have tried to get in touch with them by telephone to rectify the erroneous charge, but they don't return our calls. (Quelle surprise) They are clearly a bunch of crooks.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CMCReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 409 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2009

Stayed here as last resort for the oasis gig @ heaton park, i wont be back, i know its budget but not a patch on competition, took 45 mins to check in as i could not find staff, so i was stressed and the dissapointment of the room and facilities just made me feel even worse. i don't usually write reviews but i must warn anyone thinking of staying there, JUST DON'T!!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luckoftheirishuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Not good. It is showing age prematurely and while a little room to room noise is to be expected in this kind of hotel, the source of the noise shouldn't be faulty plumbing, rattling and squealing pipes.

The heating problem previously mentioned hasn't gone away, the a/c didn't work and the fittings in the bathroom were either dirty, loose or worn out.

Could do with a good clean too. Nothing was really clean with finger marks on the chrome handles and just a general lack of TLC. Standards well below basic "Travelodge".

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TravelTooOften
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Booked to stay here before an early morning flight from Manchester Airport. Had a large family room with king size bed and 2 single, very clean and comfortable. Had a bit of trouble getting checked in as no-one on the reception desk and had to wait about 15 mins for someone to come across from the pub!
Heard no noise from the adjoining pub and had a great night sleep before our flight. Being only 5 min drive to the airport I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Smith-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2008

This is good place to stay for a short visit either to Wilmslow or Manchester.
The rooms are clean and the beds large and comfortable.
There are large flat screen tv's and Tea and coffee facilities.
Sometimes difficult to get anyone on reception - you have to ask in pub opposite. Breakfast is in pub too - dont recommend the continental but full english looked good.
We had a rather mad hostess at breakfast who wouldnt leave us alone but kept us giggling - some noise from pub in evening.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FourDegrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

We stayed here for two nights as we had a wedding locally. We had a very bad experience. There was a problem with the fans in our room and it was like a sauna, especially the bathroom. We reported the fault in the evening but got no response despite the receptionist passing on our complaint and spent a very uncomfortable night with no sleep as the window would only open slightly. We reported it again in the morning and were amazed at the unprofessional response we received from the Manager in front of other guests. Eventually it was agreed that there was a problem they could not deal with and we were allowed to change rooms. A refund was also offered for the first night. Having spent a comfortable second night in our new room, the Manager then over-ruled the decision made the day before and said the breakfast was free instead. No apology was received from him but the rest of his staff were really professional. I would never want to go back to this hotel. A lovely wedding was spoilt by a very unpleasant incident.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bowengirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2007

Stayed for two nights over the weekend of 5th October paying £49.95 per night.

The lodge is set behind the Coach and Four pub in Wilmslow next to the Sainsbury's supermarket in the centre of the town. We were in a large room on thetop floor adapted for disabled guests on the top floor which had a large king bed and double sofa bed.

The room was clean and nicely appointed with a/c, tea,coffee making and an LCD TV (although no tv's were working on our visit) plus an excellent shower/bath. We heard no noise over the weekend but the corridors do creak when walking along them so it may be a problem on the lower floors.

Breakfast was served in the pub and was a choice of continental, full English breakfast or a bacon or sausage sandwich. The lady in charge of breakfast was excellent.

There are a good selection of reasonably priced meals available in the pub although on this occasion we only had breakfast there and some of the excellent Hydes bitter at night.

The lodge is situated about 15 minutes from Manchester airport and could be used for an overnight stay but the price of a taxi would probably negate any savings made in the room rates.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank screen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
1.3 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
212 reviews
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,714 reviews
1.7 mi away
Good Night Inns De Trafford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmslow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmslow Lodge

Address: 69-71 Alderley Road, Wilmslow SK9 1PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range: $75 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilmslow Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, 18th century coaching house pub offering delicious freshly cooked food, a wide range of fine cask ales, speciality lagers,bottled ales & fine wines & a growing, enviable spirit selection. We are perfectly situated in the centre of Wilmslow, offering breakfasts, lunches & evening meals with fresh & home cooked food being served throughout the day, every day. We have ample, free parking for guests & our hotel residents and two outside terraces. We offer corporate & personal events packages in both our orangery & upstairs, private, function room, complete with fully stocked bar & a space to party all day & night. Breakfast or all day meetings & team building events can be catered for & personally structured. Please call us for our rates & packages - we look forward to welcoming you to The Coach & Four and we of course welcome your reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wilmslow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmslow Lodge At The Coach And 4
The Wilmslow Lodge At The Coach And Four Hotel Wilmslow
The Wilmslow Hotel
The Hotel Wilmslow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing