We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The Wilmslow Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wilmslow Lodge
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed March 28, 2012

If you want to leave your car and walk around Wilmslow then this is the place to stay. We stay here when visiting friends and it means that we can walk to a local restaurant to meet them and don't have to think about driving. A good base for exploring the surrounding countryside also.
The food on offer at the ajoining pub is of a good standard and get busy around teatime with locals.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    130
    50
    18
    9
See reviews for
60
121
21
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Good facilities for a small well run establishment. The only downside was the bathroom could do with a bit of a update, other than that. No complaints. Will be back next month. Used the function room for training. Very well looked after with refreshments and awesome lunches.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Ideal location right in the centre of Wilmslow, free parking and adjacent to a nice pub which does food. Large, comfortable room, huge bed and free wifi. Small bathroom which is due an update but very clean, shower gel and hand wash included. Loads of hot water with good water pressure. There isn't a minibar but didn't expect one for this type of hotel. Powerful hairdryer and TV in the room. Nothing fancy but great value for just over £50 for 1 night. I will definitely stay again and don't hesitate to recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank panda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

Being local we have been to The Coach & Four Pub for food on quite a few occasions and it really is hit or miss. The pub itself is really nice - it has that 'country pub' feel about it with lots of character - we especially love the open fires, which is nice on cold winter days. The things that have started to become disappointing are firstly - the sunday carvery = the portions seem to be gradually getting smaller each time we go - we did mention this to one of the young barmaids / waitresses but to be honest she didn't seem to care less. And the other thing is the attitude of the male manager / owner - every time we go into the pub, we find him to come across as unfriendly and off-ish - which is really off-putting. Shame really - because overall it is a lovely little pub.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Have stayed here a couple of times now while visiting friends in Wilmslow. It's more than adequate if, like us, you just want a bed for the night in a clean, basic hotel at a good price. I would say the hotel is a small step up from the Travelodge kind of hotel - the room is a fairly generous size, plenty of room for your things, shower over a bath in the bathroom, tea & coffee making facilities, freeview tv and an iron & ironing board. That's it. No nice view, no mini bar, safe, room service etc - it's not that kind of hotel. Breakfast, if you want it, is available at extra expense in the pub next door. I would stay again as it's so convenient for the centre of Wilmslow and getting to Manchester for the day by train. The one down side is that the walls are very thin - so we could hear a crying baby and others talking and moving around in the neighbouring rooms.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

My stay here was OK - large room on the ground floor. Room cleaned very well for 2nd night stay and reception staff very helpful.
Only issues, room a little cold, bathroom door wouldn't stay open so quite claustrophobic.
Highly recommend booking bed and breakfast because the breakfast is excellent even though the service from the young lass left a bit to be desired.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paj1505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is a great overnight hotel, hasn't got all the frills but clean comfortable bed and good value for money

Room Tip: The back rooms are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeneGenie1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
1.3 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#4 of 5 in Wilmslow
78 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
2.7 mi away
Mottram Hall
Mottram Hall
#1 of 1 in Mottram St. Andrew
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Alderley Edge Hotel
Alderley Edge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Alderley Edge
369 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kingsley Lodge
Kingsley Lodge
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
326 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Handforth) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wilmslow Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilmslow Lodge

Property: The Wilmslow Lodge
Address: 69-71 Alderley Road, Wilmslow SK9 1PA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Wilmslow Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional, 18th century coaching house pub offering delicious freshly cooked food, a wide range of fine cask ales, speciality lagers,bottled ales & fine wines & a growing, enviable spirit selection. We are perfectly situated in the centre of Wilmslow, offering breakfasts, lunches & evening meals with fresh & home cooked food being served throughout the day, every day. We have ample, free parking for guests & our hotel residents and two outside terraces. We offer corporate & personal events packages in both our orangery & upstairs, private, function room, complete with fully stocked bar & a space to party all day & night. Breakfast or all day meetings & team building events can be catered for & personally structured. Please call us for our rates & packages - we look forward to welcoming you to The Coach & Four and we of course welcome your reviews. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Wilmslow Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilmslow Lodge At The Coach And 4
The Wilmslow Lodge At The Coach And Four Hotel Wilmslow
The Wilmslow Hotel
The Hotel Wilmslow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing