We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swadesh Wilmslow - CLOSED

Swadesh Wilmslow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Food here is fantastic- we have eaten here lots and food just gets better. The staff are so attentive as well, definitely recommend.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    21
    11
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“would take my indian relatives here for a taste of home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

After travelling extensively though India and nepal we have a real love of eastern food.
swadesh is the only restaurant we have been to with the truly authentic taste of india served with style and comfort.
I would have no problem bringing my indian relatives here for a taste of home!
the best indian food we have ever had outside asia!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trays93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friday Tea after a long day at work”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Once again the team at Swadesh surpassed themselves with excellent service and the most delicious food.

Being newly vegan, they were so helpful in explaining which dishes were suitable and guess what fabulous Tarka Dhal main with mushroom pilau and tandoori roti....can't wait to go back!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Great Curry and Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Went for a curry here on a quiet Monday evening. They were quick with the popadoms and topped these up when getting low. The waiter was very helpful and gave some good advise on what to have with the minced lamb dish which was excellent. Will defiantly go here again if in the area.

What was good - the food was hot and tasty.
One to watch out for - ordered bottled Indian beer and expected a large bottle when a small one appeared. Maybe I should have been more specific.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevehc247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not quite as good a we were expecting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014

We decided on a take away from here based on previous reviews. However, I have to say we were disappointed. Both the sauces were a bit watery. The taste was nice, but also the food was not very hot. We only live 5 minutes drive from the restaurant and usually don't have a problem with lukewarm take aways. We may give it another try, just in case this was an isolated incident.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swadesh Wilmslow also viewed

 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing