We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Indian Restaurant in Wilmslow hands down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Swadesh Wilmslow - CLOSED

Swadesh Wilmslow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $22
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best Indian Restaurant in Wilmslow hands down!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Great service from start to finish,I booked the restaurant for a party of 14 for my wife's birthday,Shahid took my booking and I cannot speak highly enough of the attention to detail he displayed to us and our guests,offering us the £17.50 deal (choice of 4 starters,fish,chicken,lamb and vegetable,any main on the menu plus unlimited nan bread and rice)

The starters and curries were mouth watering,fresh and left us wanting for more,Shahid has a wide knowledge of each dish and gave us direction on some fantastic dishes I had the salmon which was amazing

Great value for money for 14 of us the bill came to around £20 a head including beers,wine etc

We will definitely be going back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BeautifulLTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    21
    11
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheadle-Hulme - UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“dreadful service but compensated by excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We waited over 20 minutes to order our food after initially refusing popadoms and then a further 40 minutes for the main course to arrive (we did not order popadoms or starters). However, when the food finally did arrive it was worth the wait. Lovely flavours and fresh spices in the lamb and tiger prawn dishes. Normal offer was 20% off the dinner menu, but we were offered 35% off because of the delay in serving the main course. A very nice gesture.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank leeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pilau rice with real saffron!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

Always enjoy ourselves here with their attentive staff and fresh ingredients. It's nearest competitor is it's sister restaurant in Bowden.
Don't be afraid to ask for extra garlic, ginger or coriander and if you like your yogurt hotter and mintier ask for " Green Sauce ". Unlimited pappads!
As above, unlike other restaurant's pilau rice, which is basmati scattered with bits of dyed red and yellow rice, this is made to a recipe. And if you want to compare with other 'Indian ' Restaurants then try their tandoori lamb chops.
If you are looking for a cheap, paste based 'curry', this is probably not the place for you.
Check their menu on-line, but I think they might still be offering a 20% reduction. Enjoy.
Mike

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ourmicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Enjoyed a fabulous meal here. This place gives the other Indian restaurants in Wilmslow a run for their money. Fantastic food and great service. Try the keema - delicious!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraDManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Swadesh, Wimslow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Visited Swadesh 3 times now, food truly excellent each time. Served by pleasant, experienced waiters. We hope to return many times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swadesh Wilmslow also viewed

 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing