We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“night before our holiday”
Review of Boddington Arms

Boddington Arms
Ranked #59 of 92 Restaurants in Wilmslow
Price range: $11 - $20
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed November 12, 2012

the welcome is fab meals tasty and hot we are a mature with no children but we noticed how good the staff were catering for the children

Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Boddington Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Hi,

We are a completely different Brand and concept now. Be lovely if you would try us as a Harvester and hopefully turn your view around about the Boddington Arms!


Many thanks
Harvester Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

416 - 420 of 455 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

The meat is well cooked BUT timing is all important for the vegetables - at 12:30, they are fresh and delicious - at 5pm, after the kids have poked around in the dishes, they are a bit of a disaster... The staff were fine for us, as we prefer to be left to our own devices... The carvery used to cost £7.95 with a special £4.95 early evening price - now it's £5.95 all day all week and a bit more expensive at weekends. Alcohol is reasonably expensive - £4.00 for a bottle of cider...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank riversmeade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Boddington Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Hi,

we are very Sorry to hear off your bad experience, we are a completely different Brand and concept now. Be lovely if you would try us as a Harvester and hopefully turn your view around about the Boddington Arms!


Many thanks
Harvester Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I tend not to complain, in fact I'm rather quiet however, I feel the need to say how disappointed I was with the service. When we reached the 'wait to be seated point' the waitress who was writing didn't even look up to acknowledge us. We were then taken to a table right at the back of the restaurant, which was okay until we noticed the slug trails and the large amount of salt on the floor by the door to keep the slugs out! There were glasses on the table when we sat down, and as we tried to remove them, one was stuck to the table by a mystery sticky substance. We gave our order, and were told to wait for the carvery, they would call us when ready. 20 minutes later we were still waiting and as my daughter is 1 we couldn't wait any longer so joined the carvery queue. The carvery itself was relatively good. There was a delay for carrots, 10 minutes, but the rest was reasonably well cooked, the potatoes slightly hard. Once finished it took another 20 minutes to get the bill. The waitress constantly gave us dirty looks and made us feel unwelcome. A shame really as I normally tip good service quite well!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ManchesterSmiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Boddington Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Hi,

we are very Sorry to hear off your bad experience, we are a completely different Brand and concept now. Be lovely if you would try us as a Harvester and hopefully turn your view around about the Boddington Arms!


Many thanks
Harvester Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

The carvery was very disappointing - we ate here in May and it was lovely and we were really looking forward to it on our return from holiday, However, the young chef who served it was very nice and friendly, which is more than could be said of the two surly ignorant barmen (the ones on duty on the evening of Saturday 13th October at approx 7pm). Not a please or thank you between them - really let the place down. We have eaten here on a number of occasions in the past when it was the "Boddington & Dragon" and the staff have always been most pleasant. The young men in question obviously don't realise how fortunate they are to be in employment.

Will not eat here again and we stay at the lovely adjoining Premier Inn numerous times a year - the staff at the pub could do well to take some customer service skills from the wonderful staff there who are simply wonderful.

Thank Petali57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Boddington Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Hi,

we are very Sorry to hear off your bad experience, we are a completely different Brand and concept now. Be lovely if you would try us as a Harvester and hopefully turn your view around about the Boddington Arms!


Many thanks
Harvester Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were a group of around 20-25 people. We ate in the private function room, which was a perfect setting; service was good with staff trying very hard to meet all the different requests of the party. Food was hot and tasty but pretty average pub grub.

A good venue for small functions with an excellent Premier inn next door!

Thank RhonaGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General Manager A, Manager at Boddington Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2017

Hi,

we are very Sorry to hear off your bad experience, we are a completely different Brand and concept now. Be lovely if you would try us as a Harvester and hopefully turn your view around about the Boddington Arms!


Many thanks
Harvester Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boddington Arms also viewed

Balderstone, Lancashire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Been to Boddington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing