We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive”
Review of Stolen Lamb - CLOSED

Stolen Lamb
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The signature dish of Cyprus - Kleftiko literally means "stolen lamb”. The story goes that the "Greek Kleftes," Bandits who hid in the mountains, would sometimes steal a lamb for food. They cooked it sealed tightly on a buried pit of coals to keep a low profile, and not give away their hideout by sight and smell.My paternal Grandfather 'George' was known for his Lamb and Goat rearing in Famagusta, Cyprus. His Farm produced milk to make the famous Cypriot cheese Halloumi and his lambs were a treat to eat. The Restaurant will continue to use the finest local produce specializing in Cheshire Lamb.My maternal Grandfather, also called George, was famous for cooking the signature dish, in both his village of Kyrenia Cyprus where he was taught, and continues now in Manchester. We will be using the same recipe to cook the dish here at the restaurant. (We are lucky as his recipes are unique and he keeps them close to his heart).The restaurant embraces old Family recipes combined with new style to offer the ultimate Greek Dining Experience. Our cooking methods include, using a traditional wood-fired clay oven and a coal fired BBQ to give the full flavour to our food.Chef George & the team
Holmes Chapel, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My sister had lunch here for the first time. We knew from the start that it would be good as there were two parties of Greeks/Cypriots dining at the same time.The food was excellent - Greek with a modern twist. The lunch menu was £14.95 for two courses or £19.95 for three which was excellent value considering the quality of the food. Nice menu - too many tempting dishes so hard to choose. In the end we opted for Halloumi and Fisherman's soup to start - both delicious and presented with a twist. We both had baked cod which was accompanied with fried calamari which was out of this world. The calamari deserve special mention as they just melted in your mouth. Dessert had to be Galaktobouriko which I have never seen on a menu here in the UK before. All washed down with a nice bottle of Makedonias rose wine. We will definitely be returning - need some more of the calamari! Compliments to the chef and the very polite waiter.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PoochiesMum U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    59
    22
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Greek cuisine at it's finest”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We recently had an overnight stay in Wilmslow, so we checked out Tripadvisor to see what restaurants were recommended in the area.
We agreed with other Tripadvisor reviewers, Stolen Lamb is a little gem of a place. Situated in Wilmslow town centre it was in easy reach of our hotel (Kingsley Lodge) and we booked it purely on the strength of other reviews. Booking is made very easy by visiting their website. Just select a date, a time and the number of guests and Bob's your uncle!
My husband had never tried Greek cuisine before and was a little bit apprehensive as he's quite a fussy eater, but he need not have worried. As everything is cooked to order, the management are more than happy to cater for the individual.
We tried the 6 course taster menu, the aim being to get an appreciation for as many favours as possible. A healthy sized glass of Greek wine was served with each course. Every course was beautifully cooked and presented and full of flavours. Our waiter gave us a brief explanation of each dish and then the manager came over with the wine and explained why he had chosen each different wine to accompany the dish. The wines and food complimented each other perfectly.
Our evening turned from being just a meal in a restaurant, to being a full tasting experience and that was primarily due to the attentiveness of the lovely staff and management at the Stolen Lamb.
We look forward to our next visit to Wilmslow and another excuse to visit the Stolen Lamb!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food at this restaurant is undeniably delicious, the only reason it missed out on a 5 rating is the haphazard service. The waiters bring out the food on large trays and then seem to stand around unnessacarily waiting for one of what I can only assume to be head waiters in suits to
serve the food. Unfortunately for my husband and I this standing around took place right at the side of our table so throughtout my meal I had a waiter stood at the side of my chair with food waiting to be served to other diners, which is not ideal as you try to enjoy your meal and conversation. One of them to be fair realised this was not ideal and apologised saying there was not enough room.
The table next door to us had a very long delay between courses and several enquiries to what had happened to their main courses were met by 'its just coming' by at least three
different waiters. They then ordered a second bottle of wine which was brought to the table by
a young waitress, who to their amazement just plonked it in the middle of the table and wallked
off without even opening it never mind offering to pour it. We then had the young lady who greets you at the door coming round replacing the tea lights as we were eating. She was
having trouble with her lighter and get coming back to our or their table to try and light it off our
flame.
I then ordered a liquer coffee which was served rather strangely in a heavy earthenware mug
instead of a glass. To be fair we did share a laugh or two at the quirky service but its not what you expect from this type of restaurant.
When asked by one of the gentlemen in suits if we had enjoyed our meal we told him honestly
that the food was fantastic but we would not like to sit at the same table again due to there
being a waiter stood waiting with food next to you all night. He relpied that he liked that table but would bear our comments in mind for the future!
The food is good enough on its own to consider a return visit but if they could bring the service
up to the same standard it would be perfect.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CheshireSchoey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good food, bad service”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

A group of 6 of us ate here for lunch on valentines day. We asked when we arrived how long it would take for the food to arrive and we were told 15 minutes (we only had an hour). 30 minutes later no food had arrived and we were told it was coming out. We had to wait a further 15 minutes for food to arrive! The food was delicious once it arrived. What really made me cross was we had to order extra drinks (not a problem in itself) but the waiter spilt the drinks all over my friends food and didn't even apologise! I hope this was just a one off with the service and the food was really good, well cooked and authentic. I will revisit just for the food, but not holding out hopes for the service

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizabelle_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic evening & fantastic food”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

The evening was great, you would be mad to miss this place! Fantastic quality food with a great atmosphere. The only reason it didn't get 5's throughout is due to the language barrier, the waiter was hard work to understand (strong Greek accent) although it added to the novelty/experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stolen Lamb also viewed

 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing