We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing !!!”
Review of Stolen Lamb - CLOSED

Stolen Lamb
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The signature dish of Cyprus - Kleftiko literally means "stolen lamb”. The story goes that the "Greek Kleftes," Bandits who hid in the mountains, would sometimes steal a lamb for food. They cooked it sealed tightly on a buried pit of coals to keep a low profile, and not give away their hideout by sight and smell.My paternal Grandfather 'George' was known for his Lamb and Goat rearing in Famagusta, Cyprus. His Farm produced milk to make the famous Cypriot cheese Halloumi and his lambs were a treat to eat. The Restaurant will continue to use the finest local produce specializing in Cheshire Lamb.My maternal Grandfather, also called George, was famous for cooking the signature dish, in both his village of Kyrenia Cyprus where he was taught, and continues now in Manchester. We will be using the same recipe to cook the dish here at the restaurant. (We are lucky as his recipes are unique and he keeps them close to his heart).The restaurant embraces old Family recipes combined with new style to offer the ultimate Greek Dining Experience. Our cooking methods include, using a traditional wood-fired clay oven and a coal fired BBQ to give the full flavour to our food.Chef George & the team
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing !!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I went to the greek restaraunt for the first time, i can highly reccomend it. The food, atmosphere and service was fantastic. I work in the hotel industry and will be reccomending it to everyone.
The staff are fantastic, very helpful - dan is great he helped up with the menu.
Our food came out rather quickly and was amazing.
Will be back for valentines day :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank C_L_H08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    59
    22
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great service”
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

I visited the Stolen Lamb for a business lunch. There were 25 of us! The staff were so friendly and helpful. All our food came out at the same time which isn't easy when the party is so big. The food was amazing. The bandits breakfast never ceases to impress. The sea bream was lovely-cooked to perfection. My neighbour at the table had beef stifado which just fell apart. I can't wait for the Gourmet Evening on 6Feb!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trickydicky7782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“lovely surprise”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

we had such a lovely meal here and it was a lovely surprise, made even more speacial as we won a three course meal in a raffle, this did not mean that the staff paid us less attention, in fact, the waiter was amazing and helped us all the way with the menu. we visited mid week and it was very quiet but that didn't really bother us. we will visit again.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Promised a lot and delivered very little !!!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our first night out without the children for quite a few months. Had heard mostly very good reviews of this place, especially on Tripadvisor. Ordered the Meze menu as very difficult to order a la carte the way the menu was set out. Greek food, the half of which I had never heard of except Kleftiko and Stifado and the odd dolmades. The first course took around an hour to arrive, and the next 4 took around 30 minutes each, the whole meal taking 3 hours. The food was very poor, the Stolen lamb dish was too sweet and a real disappointment, the dolmades, although I ate mine, were the worst I have ever had. The dessert was Baklava which was warm, making it soggy with a bit of poached pear. I don't know what they were trying to achieve but they failed. It was very claustrophobic too, upstairs and only two small windows which were far away and no door to look to. If the rest of wilmslow thinks this merits number one spot, then they don't aspire to much. Sorry folks but a massive disappointment!!!!! Even the candle kept going out, as no more wax in the dish!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank caroleken70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food, good service”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

4 of us visited here on a Friday night and had a go at the Symposium (Tasting Menu).
The selection that came out was great, well presented and excellent flavour.
It wasn't shy on the sizes either and certainly looked more like 6 full size courses than the usual micro portions for a tasting menu.
We will certainly go back as the service was friendly and efficient too.

Helpful?
1 Thank PeterJ-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stolen Lamb also viewed

 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing