We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant meal in years!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Stolen Lamb - CLOSED

Stolen Lamb
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $38
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The signature dish of Cyprus - Kleftiko literally means "stolen lamb”. The story goes that the "Greek Kleftes," Bandits who hid in the mountains, would sometimes steal a lamb for food. They cooked it sealed tightly on a buried pit of coals to keep a low profile, and not give away their hideout by sight and smell.My paternal Grandfather 'George' was known for his Lamb and Goat rearing in Famagusta, Cyprus. His Farm produced milk to make the famous Cypriot cheese Halloumi and his lambs were a treat to eat. The Restaurant will continue to use the finest local produce specializing in Cheshire Lamb.My maternal Grandfather, also called George, was famous for cooking the signature dish, in both his village of Kyrenia Cyprus where he was taught, and continues now in Manchester. We will be using the same recipe to cook the dish here at the restaurant. (We are lucky as his recipes are unique and he keeps them close to his heart).The restaurant embraces old Family recipes combined with new style to offer the ultimate Greek Dining Experience. Our cooking methods include, using a traditional wood-fired clay oven and a coal fired BBQ to give the full flavour to our food.Chef George & the team
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best restaurant meal in years!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

My husband & I were blown away by the food and the service at The Stolen Lamb last night. We have spent a great deal of time in Greece - and indeed we have a house in Rhodes - but we have never experienced anything as impressive as this. The food is best described, I think, as Greek meets Fine Dining! It is pricey, but because it is so delicious and beautifully presented, you certainly don't feel that you're being ripped off - far from it! Can't wait to return, but may have to wait for a special occasion to justify it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank aitchlone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    59
    22
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Read the reviews and thought we should try this one out. We weren't disappointed. The food was fabulous and the service was great. We'll be back!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jem999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“it wasnt all greek to me”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

my husband and i came here whilst visiting the area. We were looking for somewhere different to eat. This restaurant is different from the usual greek restaurant.
It was very nice and clean but we would prefer the more traditional greek food and It was a little dearer. We felt they were trying to make the Greek dishes too arty and precautious. It just doesn't work with this type of food.
I would prefer if they stuck to the traditional Greek receipes.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sueanddave0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“BEST IN THE NORTH WEST!!!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Wow, where do I start with the Stolen Lamb. The moment you walk through the door you enter a world of opulence and style. The decor is done to a high standard, tastefully and not brash. The staff were attentive and very helpful (nothing too much). We were there for the lunchtime menu, we enjoyed a starter of sesame seed halloumi (amazing) followed by the wild boar souvlaki (again amazing). Wine was impeccable (Santorini white). Bill didn't show any nasty surprises, and we will be making a return visit VERY soon. Well done Stolen Lamb!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SanchoPanza_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heald Green Cheshire
Level Contributor
201 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“the very best restaurant--truly outstanding”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

i travel around the UK with my job, and i have reviewed many restaurants, This is the best service, and superb food i have ever enjoyed. I went for an evening meal with 2 very special friends. The food is astonishing, we selected the 6 course symposium meal. They are selections not to be missed. The seating is nicely laid out, and very comfortable. The lighting and atmosphere is perfect
The Toilets are spotless and clean.
The staff are seriously attentive, they serve you your food and explain, how it is prepared and cooked.
The Manager is very proud of his staff, and ensures you have a fantastic experiance of Greek cuisine. The Champagne we choose was not in stock,-- he gave us a much finer champagne at no extra cost, than the one we selected.
(thank you)
This restaurant has been open about a year, and i will be going back again and again.
Do not miss out on this food experiance if you are in Wilmslow.
No hidden service charges on the bill, Fantastic

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulandbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stolen Lamb also viewed

 
Handforth, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing