We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good start to a holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Airport Inn Manchester
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good start to a holiday”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

we parked the car in the long stay car park and made our way to reception to check in.

we got 2 rooms on the ground floor. ( lower ground) they could have done with a bit of refurbishment - but still they where clean and comfy and quiet.

I booked a table for dinner on arrival and had an excellent meal later that evening.

next morning a taxi took us to the airport without any problems.
a week later we where picked up from the airport and dropped outside the hotel where we picked up our car.

all in all a good relaxing start to a holiday.
We will be using this hotel again on our next vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chiefht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear chiefnt

Thank you for your review. I will forward your comments onto our Franchise owners in regards to a rooms refurbishment. However I was please to read you found your stay pleasant. I look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    300
    306
    243
    292
See reviews for
254
504
86
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

This Holiday Inn falls way down the list when it comes to Check-In Staff attitude and the so called freshness and appeal of the rooms. As a Gold Elite Member of the Priority Club, I do expect a bit of extra attention and I have to say that all other IHG brands I've stayed in all over the world are good. However, the attitude and apparent lack of interest in customer satisfaction from the Receptionist at this hotel was as far removed from pleasant as you get. Having asked if there were any room upgrades available, I was promptly told "You've already been upgraded to a King Room" This is what I'd booked in the first place and paid for, but I wasn't going to argue as she was obviously at the end of a long day or at the beginning of a long night. My so called "upgraded room" was in the basement and stunk of dampness and was damp. I asked to move and was given another room in the same block, but on the second floor. Bathroom very tired. Bed kept moving forwards towards the TV when propped up against the headboard!! Pillows had dropped down behind the bed by morning!! No lift by the way in this block! The main block appears to be more modern and has lifts. The carpets in the "old block" are worn and there is a smell of must and dampness in the stairwells and corridors. Breakfast was mediocre. It was in the package I bought, but hugely overpriced for what it was if bought on the day. Not a good ambassador for an otherwise great brand of hotel. Refurbish the rooms and the attitude of your check-in staff

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Airmilesjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear airmilesjames

Thank you for your post. I will forward your comments about the rooms and corridors being in need of a refurbishment to our Franchise owners. I will also speak with my reception manager in reference to your comments about the poor welcome you received. Please accept my sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilmslow hotels

Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We used this hotel for two weeks parking with an overnight stay on our return. It all worked very smoothly. I like the fact that the car remains parked, where you park it, in their long-stay area at the rear of the hotel and you keep your keys. The transfers to and from the airport went very smoothly with friendly drivers in both directions. The room was perfectly adequate for an overnight stay. Breakfast was surprisingly good - plenty of variety and choice. So long as the price is right we shall certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Tricia F

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read you had a pleasant stay, I look forward to welcoming you back the next time you fly out of Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Booked a car parking and hotel deal on return from holiday.
Must have got the smallest room in the hotel had to walk sideways and had to climb in the bed from the end - got into bed and the douvet was torn on the inside - it looked like it had caught in the washer/dryer, too tired to complain at the time but did mention it on departure.
Constant noise from heating pump.

Good job it was only 1 night or would have complained.

I did not expect this from a hotel normally thought to be good quality.

Room Tip: dont go to the rear its noisy- if you are staying longer dont accept a room like ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumbrianradioham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear cumbrianradioham

Thank you for your comments which I was disappointed to read. Please accept my sincere apologies for the condition of the linen. Please be assured I have raised this with both out linen supply and my head housekeeper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelton
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Have stayed her quite a few times ,going back to when it was a Moat House. Easy to get to and close to airport. On site parking which is very handy although a bit of a long walk to the long stay, especially when it is raining.Pleasant restraunt and bar area with decent food and service.Free transport to and from airport 24 hours.Breakfast setting very nice and food usually good, but this time poor as food only warm and had to request various items which had not been replenished.Will stay here again as good value for money and breakfast is normally good.

Room Tip: Rooms over reception can be noisy from smokers congregating outside late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irvSkelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear irvSkelton

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Its nice to read you’re a regular patron to the hotel. I apologise for the quality of the breakfast you received and I have passed on your comments to both my food and beverage manager and my head chef.
I look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

As we had a relatively early check in at Manchester Airport, we chose this hotel due to it's close proximity. As my partner is a 'Priority Club' member & had sufficient points for an overnight stay, there was no charge for the room. How pleased we were! Although on arrival the young lady on reception was extremely pleasant & helpful, we immediately felt the hotel was 'tired'. When entering our room we were very disappointed, so much so that I felt like going straight home! The room was so small with the bed on one side almost against the wall. My partner rang down to reception to speak to the Manager. My partner insisted on moving to another room which the Manager then agreed to. This was so much larger with a settee & it felt to be recently refurbished. We had a light meal in the bar which was fine. Would we stay there again, no we'd stay at the Crown Plaza at the Airport where we've stayed on a couple of occasions.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Elizabeth E

Thank you for your review. We allocate rooms on what was originally booked by our guests. The room you were first allocated is one of our standard double rooms. The room you were moved to was one of our family rooms as the sofa you describe are sofa beds. This was only offered due to availability, however these rooms are often fully booked in advance. We do have executive rooms available which are similar size to the family room, these are available for an additional £20 should you wish to consider using us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

I stayed here for one night before a holiday, room was plesant, space for case etc, staff helpfull, taxi to and from airport in a new coach, driver chatty. You move ur car to back carpark and take ur keys. When came back you just get a code and away you go. Yes I would stay here again as not expensive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thecleaner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JRothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear thecleaner29

Thank you for your review, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Airport Inn Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airport Inn Manchester

Property: The Airport Inn Manchester
Address: Altrincham Road, Wilmslow SK9 4LR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Manchester Airport)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Airport Inn Manchester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Inn Manchester is ideally located less than 10 minutes from Manchester Airport, and is one of the prime hotels near Manchester Airport, just south of Manchester city centre. The hotel offers exclusive Stay & Fly Packages which include on-site Manchester Airport Parking and for a small charge, a 24 hour taxi service, transporting you to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Airport Inn Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Wilmslow
Manchester Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilmslow
Wilmslow Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing