We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Airport Inn Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Airport Inn Manchester
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Good value for the room and parking deal
reastaurant food very good and excellent service
leisure complex ok with a good size pool
Only negative is the return transfer a bit of a wait if you have just missed the mini bus, especially if it is raining

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milinian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your compliments onto our restaurant team. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

John Rothwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    298
    303
    237
    288
See reviews for
250
496
86
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked this hotel by mistake! We usually stay nearer the airport bt this hotel is not far away and provides a good taxi link to the terminals - only down side was the wait for the return. An advantage is that your car stays at the hotel and you keep the keys. Comfortable bar and food service.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the airport runway side will be quieter although the hotel is remarkably quiet despi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with our hotel.

I’m pleased to read that although you booked us as a mistake, your stay was enjoyable and I hope you return to us in the future.

Kind regards,

John Rothwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

Stay here before we flew away & when we returned from our holiday on the first night we had a family room which was room 5 it was clean but a little small with 2 kids and the pull out sofa bed wasn't great on our return we had room 8 which was much nicer and bigger however from both rooms you could here the planes breakfast wasn't anything special and was expensive in future I would stay at the more modern cheaper premier inn which is closer to the terminal

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrewsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time with us.

I’m pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sorry to read that you would not return to us but as an airport hotel, some airplane noise will be heard.

Kind regards,

John Rothwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

After travelling from Egypt 4 hours late and with no luggage ( thanks to Thomas Cook!) We arrived yesterday at 8am, being booked in for the night before. We had a 3 hour car drive home so had booked it thinking we would be at the hotel at 230 am for a good sleep before driving. The airport was unhelpful and the coach transfers back to the car were uncaring that we were freezing (we had put our jackets in the case to get out on our return)
We arrived so down and so so tired. The young lady that looked after us was new to this hotel and I told her of our problems and asked for a toothbrush and toothpaste as we had nothing. She was lovely and told us to get a hot drink and was genuinely caring to make us comfortable. The young man at the breakfast bar was lovely too and offered us anything we wanted.
These young people and their genuine care wiped out all of our upset and should be thanked by the company. ( We thanked them personally ourselves).
As a good traveller along with my husband we thank this company and the people we were lucky to meet here to make us feel better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donnamarpla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay.

I am so sorry to read of the problems you had at the end of your holiday but I’m so pleased that our team members managed to make it better. I will ensure that the team members in question read your review and know how much you appreciate their help.

Kind regards,

John Rothwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a family room on the 1st floor, did have to carry cases up the stairs as no lift but it didn't pose a problem for us. Having read previous reviews we were pleasantly surprised, the room was of a very good standard and most importantly to me, clean! Plenty of towels provided and small bottles of toiletries which was a nice touch. Left our car for 2 weeks in the long stay at the back of the hotel and had no problems in doing so, checking in and out was smooth and taxi to the airport arrived at the booked time. On our return we had a 15 minute wait before we were collected but we were advised of this prior to departure and when I rang to advise we were ready to be collected. No problems in once we got back to pick our car up, staff very friendly. Would not hesitate in stopping again especially for the price we paid, £53.20 for 1 night in a hotel and 2 weeks parking, could not fault that!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ARJEB20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with Holiday Inn Manchester Airport.

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be good value for money. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

John Rothwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stayed here with my family before flying out early the next morning. Check in was pretty smooth and the room was the usual Holiday Inn room, nothing fancy but clean enough. We also paid for the airport transfers and long stay parking, both of which worked well however the transfer was about 20 minutes late due to an accident at the airport so couldn't be avoided I suppose. This did lead to a few irate travellers that had waited to the last minute to leave for the airport and when speaking with the staff at reception I must admit weren't dealt with particularly well.

Overall alright for a nights sleep and an easy transfer to the airport.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Codename047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay with us.

I’m pleased to read that everything was as you expected during your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

John Rothwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockerbie
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Perhaps two stars is a little harsh, but one expects better from Holiday Inn. It's not a back street dive of a hotel by any means, and it's designed to be an overnight stop off if you are using the airport. That said, the room was cramped...in fact we requested a change of room due to the first one being very stale. The furnishings were dated and tired looking and it's now quite a long time since I saw 4:3 old style tube telly. The selection of channels was poor and the picture was terrible. The swimming pool and health area was fine, as were the public areas and the staff were courteous enough. Regular shuttle to the airport was quite quick, although I was a bit miffed that I had to pay for two passengers of the five, because they were a second booking with their own room, albeit they were sharing a car with us. The guy driving the shuttle, which was separate to the hotel, was quite unfriendly, uncommunicative and bordering on aggressive! Even for 7am in the morning...

Room Tip: The walls are paper thin. Camp out near the runway at the airport for a better sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QMHManager, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your time with us.

I’m sorry to rad that your room was not satisfactory and you needed to request a room change. Our hotel will be going through a thorough refurbishment within the next few years however our televisions will be updated in the next few weeks. I’m pleased our amenities were good and you were pleased with our hotel in general.

I’m afraid I can’t comment on the driver of the shuttle bus, except offer my apologies as no one deserves to be treated that way.

I hope your stay has not marred your view of the Holiday Inn Manchester Airport but if it has I would appreciate the chance to restore your faiths so please email your name, room number and date of stay to gm.himanchester@qmh-hotels.com.

Kind regards,

John Rothwell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilmslow hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Airport Inn Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airport Inn Manchester

Property: The Airport Inn Manchester
Address: Altrincham Road, Wilmslow SK9 4LR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Manchester Airport)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Airport Inn Manchester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Inn Manchester is ideally located less than 10 minutes from Manchester Airport, and is one of the prime hotels near Manchester Airport, just south of Manchester city centre. The hotel offers exclusive Stay & Fly Packages which include on-site Manchester Airport Parking and for a small charge, a 24 hour taxi service, transporting you to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Airport Inn Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Wilmslow
Manchester Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilmslow
Wilmslow Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing