We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again. Noisy. Rude Staff. OK rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Airport Inn Manchester
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Never Again. Noisy. Rude Staff. OK rooms”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2007

the rooms are OK in this hotel, but very basic (overpriced!). Although a couple in our group did have trouble with a dripping radiator that kept them awake all night.

We stayed here before and after a flight. Very noisy, rude staff at recpetion and bar. Bad experiences both night before and after flights. (not ideal after delayed flights and arriving at 11pm at night wanting to sleep).

Would never stay here again. If you need a room for a flight, I suggest the travelodge that is closer to airport as a better option. If you book over 2 weeks in advance using the flexi saver rooms you can get them for as cheap as £29 and get better value for money and a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pete_wright16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller3737, John Rothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, December 7, 2007
Thank you for your review, I was concerned to learn of your disappointing stay and apologise for any inconvenience caused. Please be assured both my Bars and Reception Managers are already taking the necessary steps, particularly with retraining and customer service. In the meantime should you be visiting Manchester again, please give us a call so as we may show you the improvements that have been made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    300
    307
    243
    292
See reviews for
254
505
86
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2007

This past summer we were making our first holiday trip with a 15 month old baby. We weren't sure how we would do it with a baby and a taxi for an early morning flight. So, we decided to book a Park and Go rate King Executive room so that we wouldn't have to have a 2 am start to our already long day.

Upon arrival, everything looked clean and reception dealt with us very quickly. They explained the Parking Lot procedures for the 2 week car stay and the bus times for the next morning.

The baby was tired, so we went straight to the room. Be warned, there are NO lifts and if you have luggage and a baby with a push chair, it can be quiet a feat to get to the room.

After our juggling act, we arrived in our room. It was not a large room by any comparison. However, it met our needs for a one night stay. They had made sure that there was a bed for the baby. The mini-bar good with a wide variety of drinks and snacks. The tv had a good selection of channels and the room was clean- my son checked every corner, so I know it to be true!

We decided to have room service for our evening meal. The prices were reasonable and it was delivered quick and VERY hot!

Check-out was easy and the bus to the airport left on time. Because of extra security measures, the bus goes to the bus station and not the front doors. This is a bit of a pain. However, if we had taken a taxi we would have had the same amount of walk outside!

We are off on a Christmas holiday trip and I have just booked our night before stay. We see it as an early start to a much deserved holiday!

  • Liked — Holiday Parking
  • Disliked — No lifts!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2007

I have used this hotel a lot over the last 30 years in the early trips it was really fantastic to the last few years when it dropped off to such a point that 4 years ago we decided not to use it again the rooms were awful and the lobby , bar etc so in need of a refurb that it was disgusting kids were running around shouting etc it was so bad we just wanted to leave early
so I was upset when we were booked in by someone else for a stay this week and not looking forward to it I checked the reviews and found them awful so imagine my surprise to find the lobby bars, our bedroom and restaurant all had had a refurb they were very nice and our stay was very good. The breakfast was very nice sevice in the hotel was prompt as was the airport transfer ,we didnt have time to use the pool this time
what I would say let the hotel down was the curtain in our room was hanging off and the first impression this gave was not good and it would have been so simple to fix as would the light above our bed which needed a bulb and the fact we had asked for a non smoking room to find it was smoking but it did not smell of smoke so we didnt change it
all in all a very good stay and we may consider staying again but I do hope all the rooms have been redone

  • Liked — newly decorated
  • Disliked — no shelf in the bathroom
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anancy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller3737, J Rothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 2, 2007
Thank you for coming back to us. It is always pleasing to receive positive comments, may I however apologise for the couple of shortcomings you experienced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
67 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2007

We had an early flight the following morning so decided to stay here overnight. Never again! We used to stay here regularly a lot of years ago when it was The Valley Lodge, and then it was taken over by Wilmslow Moat House. In those days it was a pleasure to stay - in fact it was part of our holiday as we used to take a swim and then have a nice relaxing meal in the restaurant.
This time we were given a dark and dingy room that was in desperate need of decorating. The wallpaper was a horrible yellow stripe which was dirty and stained. Someone had swatted a fly on the wall which looked as if it had been there for God knows how long. The most offputting thing was that the toilet smelt of stale urine.
We went to the bar and took one look at the menu which was extortionatelly overpriced. However, we went out and found a lovely country pub just five minutes walk from the hotel. (Turn left at the main entrance). It served superb food.
How this place can charge what they do for accommodation and not be embarassed is beyond me. If ever we have to fly from Manchester again we will stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Too numerous to mention
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheba38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveller3737, J Rothwell, General Manager at The Airport Inn Manchester, responded to this review, November 2, 2007
Thanks for posting a review. As a frequent guest of the Hotel, you will be aware that the experiences you encountered were not to our usual standard for which I apologise. I would welcome the opportunity should you give the hotel another chance to provide you the good service and standards you have previously received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Wilmslow hotels

Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2007

How any one can give this 5*s I don't know. 1* is geneous! The room s are small and dirty - even when I complained and was 'upgraded' to the new part. The carpet was wet in the corridor and the place stank. I stay in Holiday Inns nearly every week and this one is by far the worst I have experienced. It's no where near the airport and the staff are poorly trained. I requested a number of things from reception (towels etc) and ended up going to get them after an hours wait. 2 nights stay was 2 nights too many. Hopefully reviews like this will help them improve ;o)

  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank anothersuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2007

Awful hotel. Dirty rooms, no lifts so flogging luggage up and down stairs. Staff not bad but the shuttle bus driver was about as rude as anyone could be. How some people rate this 5 stars is a mystery

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Pretty much the whole package
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank britron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2007

One night stay. Good clean room and nice breakfast for the price. One little complaint - why don't they have a proper toaster?!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank nickswlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
1.5 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Airport Inn Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Airport Inn Manchester

Property: The Airport Inn Manchester
Address: Altrincham Road, Wilmslow SK9 4LR, England (Formerly Holiday Inn Manchester Airport)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Airport Inn Manchester 3.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Inn Manchester is ideally located less than 10 minutes from Manchester Airport, and is one of the prime hotels near Manchester Airport, just south of Manchester city centre. The hotel offers exclusive Stay & Fly Packages which include on-site Manchester Airport Parking and for a small charge, a 24 hour taxi service, transporting you to and from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Airport Inn Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Wilmslow
Manchester Airport Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Wilmslow
Wilmslow Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing