We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down badly by its' affiliate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stay at PTI weekly as a business user. I frequently stay in Manchester, and can say that my recent stay was (as other reviewers have stated) badly let down by the Boddington Arms.

The service there is poor at best, breakfast does not mirror the menu card, and they are not geared up to provide what is advertised. I asked for crumpets and boiled eggs which took 25 minutes to arrive - so late that I needed to leave as they were being brought to the table. The following day I ordered eggs as I arrived - they came in pots (not egg cups).

I did give the feedback to the receptionist who attempted to offset responsibility - however I did make it clear that as a result of this poor business partner I would not stay there ever again. It looks like others feel the same.

My advice is to stay at the Alderley Edge Inn which has an excellent restaurant

Room Tip: It is very quiet there and so no road noise which is the only benefit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froggyface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Guest Relations and the Management Team at this hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 407 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2014

Have stayed in this Premier Inn on several occaisons recently since we had a new Grandchild turn up in Wilmslow and needed more room for family get togethers. It does everything we want, big comfortable warm room, good parking, and not noisy

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SouthhamptonBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLeader M, Team Leader at Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we are thrilled to hear you have enjoyed your stays with us and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Having stayed recently at the Premier Inns at Liverpool Airport, and West Bolton, and enjoyed an establishment of the highest standard, with the best possible staff, this Inn seemed a little disappointing.

To be fair, most of the 'issues' are associated with the restaurant/bar facilities that are (if I understand correctly) not part of the same business, but most guests will few the whole set up as a combined experience, so they rise and fall by their weakest link.

As has already been pointed out, the restaurant closes at 8.00 pm, and for a 'business hotel' this is unacceptable, however we didn't find the restaurant very 'welcoming' even when it was open and the carvery looked decidedly tired.

Bedrooms were ok, but again perhaps a little tired compared with the norm for Premier Inns. Still the rate was very good for Wilmslow, so no problem with value.


Of course it was 'blue Monday' so maybe most staff are not as chirpy as normal at this time of year.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HumberMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLeader M, Team Leader at Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thank you for your review of our hotel.
You are correct in thinking that the 'Boddington Arms' is a separate business to our hotel but are also quite right in that we aim to provide guests with a brilliant experience, dining included. We have a strong working relationship with the management of the Boddingtons and will continue to work with them to improve customer experience. Thank you for your feedback on this matter and we hope that if you choose to stay with us again in the future we will exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Overnight stop to break the journey from Scotland to London. Have friends in the area and a good place to stop….

The welcome was friendly and charming.

The bedroom large with a six-foot bed, spare pillows, decent linen, flat screen TV, tea and coffee facilities, hair direr, two arm-chairs…perfectly acceptable bathroom and all immaculately clean…staffed by very very friendly people who make you feel very welcome.

For £25.

If I had paid this in 1983 I would have been happy with the value provided, for the end of 2013, truly outstanding.

Highly recommended.

(and the attached pub is pretty decent also!)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcolesw2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLeader M, Team Leader at Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

'jcolesw2', thank you for your review. We are so thrilled that we exceeded your expectations during your most recent stay.
All of our staff here at Wilmslow truly care about our guests and work very hard to ensure every guest experience is a positive one. It makes it all worthwhile when we hear such kind words about our hotel and team.
Thanks again and we all look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel was nice and comfortable, friendly staff, quiet area, felt safe. Disabled room would have been better with a wet floor shower room. Larger
TV would have been nice! I'd stay again if I was in the area

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLeader M, Team Leader at Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2014

Thanks so much for your kind words and for reviewing our hotel. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The room was cold despite changing the thermostat, which meant I didn't get the promised good night's sleep. Apart from that the facilities were good. The problems were more with the adjoining restaurant. I arrived after 8pm having not eaten all day, checked in and so on, went into the restaurant only to be told it closed at 8.30pm so there was no food at all. This on a Friday evening! On the Saturday morning breakfast did not start until 8am which was too late for anyone like myself who had a working day ahead. Not only that, but I am sure many people stay here who are travelling onwards or attending something like a wedding and would value an earlier breakfast. There was certainly a long queue of people reading to come in at 8. The food was ok.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank travellerkMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLeader M, Team Leader at Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay with us. We welcome all feedback as it helps us to improve the service we provide. I would like to apologise for any inconvenience you experienced during your stay due to the thermostat in your room. Please do not hesitate to ask reception for extra heaters etc in the unlikely event that you experience any problems during your future stays with us.
Here at Premier Inn (Wilmslow) we have a strong working relationship with the managment of the 'Boddington Arms' next door to us. We take our customer satisfaction very seriously and I can assure you that your comments will be passed on to them and the neccessary steps will be taken to combat the issues you've experienced.
Thank you again, we hope to welcome you in the future and exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Had a comfortable two night stay which provided all the things I needed including a hairdryer, kettle and TV all in good working order. I was pleased that the room had good lighting, something that is lacking in other hotel rooms, can never see to do anything sometimes. Handy for the restaurant which provided a very adequate menu.


  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLeader M, Team Leader at Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Sheila H,
Speaking on behalf of the team here at Premier Inn (Wilmslow), thank you for taking the time to write a review on your most recent stay with us. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will be sure to pass your comments onto the pub next door to us also.
We hope to welcome you again in the future where we aim to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilmslow
0.8 mi away
The Wilmslow Lodge
The Wilmslow Lodge
#3 of 5 in Wilmslow
395 reviews
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester (Handforth) Hotel
1.4 mi away
The Airport Inn Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Stanneylands
The Stanneylands
#2 of 5 in Wilmslow
178 reviews
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Manchester Airport Wilmslow Pinewood Hotel
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel

Address: Racecourse Road, Wilmslow SK9 5LR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Wilmslow
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Wilmslow
Price Range: $60 - $110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to heart of Wilmslow town centre with easy access to Manchester Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester (Wilmslow) Hotel Wilmslow

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing