We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Armeno si mangia! ”
Review of Heddy's Restaurant

Heddy's Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 92 Restaurants in Wilmslow
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $52
Cuisines: Armenian, Mediterranean, Middle Eastern, Persian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family run restaurant opening timesMonday 5.30 till 1030 pmTuesday -Saturday 12. pm till 2.30 pm 5.30pm till 10.30 pmSundays open for parties
Mestre, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Armeno si mangia! ”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I'm Italian, i had a stunning dinner in this restaurant not only for the delicious food but also for the friendly and enthusiastic staff! I love this place, i will come back for sure!

Helpful?
Thank CarlottaPar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    75
    26
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, UK
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Attention to detail...”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The owner and Maitre D knows what he's doing. Ask him to order for you, seriously, you wont regret it. Good service, good food, good atmosphere. Can't fault the place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank JoseCamel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food have had for a long time”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

Loved this restaurant. Great service, good atmosphere & the food was the best I've had in a long time. Can't recommend it enough - if you are in the area, you have to try it!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dawn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We ate here for the first time in a couple of years and we were very pleased with both the food and the atmosphere. We ate from the early dining menu (which finished at 8.30 so not so early|!!) and the choice was sufficient and quality was excellent - the service was good and all staff very pleasant - we will definitely return

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
514 reviews
294 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overrated.”
Reviewed July 11, 2014

I had lunch here recently and had been looking forward to sampling the food at Heddy’s for some time following the multiple good reviews. The portion sizes were very good, but eating Middle Eastern food regularly both locally in Manchester, on the Edgware Road and other areas in London and elsewhere, this is to be expected of excellent Middle Eastern hospitality. I didn’t find the location anything special at all to be frank, quite a let down considering it is rated the best restaurant in Wilmslow. And I was further surprised when the surroundings weren’t reflected in the prices when I was given a menu. OK, we’re in Wilmslow but that doesn’t mean we can expect to pay 15-20% more for our food does it? Or does it? Outside, people sat on the narrow pavement (‘terrace’) next to a busy main road looking cool in oversized shades, sipping champagne from buckets and breathing in diesel fumes by the lungful.

Back to the food, I had the mixed mezze to start, out of the whole plate of starters, the spinach was quite delicious, everything else just ok, but the salad was a little dry and bitter, and the vine leaves also bitter and far too fibrous. I can and do buy better in the city centre on a regular basis. For mains I had the grilled halloumi, this was probably the best grilled halloumi I’ve had anywhere, not too salty and grilled to perfection. Though to be honest this was simply a grilled skewer with mixed veg (peppers/onions), taken off the skewer and laid onto a bed of quite average couscous.

The staff were all very good, and I had the good fortune to meet the owner’s daughter, who is certainly skilled at treating customers with exactly the right amounts of genuine warmth and hospitality. She made me a complimentary glass of fresh doogh when I couldn't find it, or ayran, on the menu (itself an oddity in a Middle Eastern restaurant). In summary I found the food was generally OK, a couple of things were very good, some not, but all were overpriced and the restaurant itself a let down and very overrated as a venue. I can certainly find a handful of places within Greater Manchester serving better Middle Eastern food, for considerably less money, and in much nicer surroundings. 3.5 stars.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Nimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heddy's Restaurant also viewed

 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Handforth, Cheshire
 
Wilmslow, Cheshire
Wilmslow, Cheshire
 

Been to Heddy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing