We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap stay!”
Review of St. Georgio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Georgio Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.Not a lot of parking but we were lucky to get one of the 5 spaces. Staff at the reception was very friendly and helpful.Very clean everywhere although the room was very basic. The bed was very comfortable but walls are very thin and had to listen to next doors conversation until well after midnight. Bathroom also quite small but good shower (hot and powerful). Breakfast was much nicer than expected. Tube station is just at the end of the street,but took a while to get to the city centre,overall an enjoyable stay. Would come back.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank AntjeWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Mrs Wilkinson
Thank you for taking the time to leave such nice review about your previous stay with us.
I am delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience with us. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Christina Stanila
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for St. Georgio Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 524 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've had the pleasure of my stay at the hotel
All employees was very cooperating with me

Especially Mr. Mahmoud receptionist
Was at the top of literature and taste in dealing with me and did not refuses help me at any time, until if the late at night
I was very much pleased to deal with him,

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loloasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Sirs,
Thank you for your review. It is a real pleasure to read your comments and I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay here at St Georgio hotel.
Your great feedback has already been share with the whole hotel team and Mahmood and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent service, great staff. A plus for the free wifi. Only downside is the location, 30 mins from central London with tube, can get a bit frustrating. Also, the walls are a bit thin.. But overall, I'm pleased with what I got for my money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Mrs Wilkinson
Thank you for taking the time to leave such nice review about your previous stay with us.
I am delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience with us. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Christina Stanila
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Booked for six blokes as 'somewhere to sleep' after the recent Froch/kessler world title fight.
Pre arrival we were informed that a switch had been necessary to two triple rooms instead of three twins. No problem for us as it was only going to be somewhere to dump bags and sleep later.
However on arrival we were pleasantly surprised at the standards all round. Reception is clean and modern, Staff friendly and polite, Room was very pleasant and well presented with a complimentary bottle of wine for us having to switch. The tariff......amazing! On booking we assumed it was £65 each.... it was actually £65 per room....including a rather decent (cooked/buffet eat as much as you like) breakfast! £22 per person incredible.
Arriving back late errrm after 2.30am jaded and full of high spirits, night security was efficient and friendly.
Will definitely be using again.... Convenient and outstanding value for money!
Well done everyone at St. Georgio Hotel.
Peter

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveldaddymidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Sirs,

First I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused and also to thank you for your understanding regarding our Maintenance fault and the changes we have made to the booking that you had with us. We are happy to hear that you were pleased with our facilities and customer service and that we have managed to exceed the extra mile regarding your stay.
We hope to see you again in the nearest future.

Kind regards
Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Hotel was in a great location, easy to park car, the choice of restaurants nearby was excellent. Nice room and facilities, highly recommended. Easy to check in and get to your room, breakfast was included and was excellent.

Room Tip: Stayed at Front of Hotel
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cerromac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Mr Cerrromac,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such nice review about your previous stay with us.
I am delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience with us. We sincerely look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've stayed here twice this month as I was working in the area.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. I got a good deal on the room rate so I have no complaints abou the hotel.

The hotel is clean and tidy and the rooms are fine. The bathrooms in the rooms I stayed in were both very clean, which is always a big plus for me.

Breakfast was good and started early which suits me.

I stayed in a Premier Inn nearby too. St Georgio is probably a level below that but for the price I have no complaints.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank GlennRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Mr Glenn Robinson,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave us your comments.
We are happy to see that you have chosen to stay with us for a second time and become a loyal customer.
Once again thank you for you review, and we look forward welcoming you back to the St Georgio Hotel.

Kind regards
Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is great location for Gants Hill Tube Station but that's about the only good point. Rooms are very basic and bathroom can smell of sewage at times also do not stay here Thursday or Friday and Saturday night if the hotel put you in a room above the club below. Breakfast is a good choice but the quality of the food is not very good. Car parking available but have to be lucky to get a space. A few restaurants around but nothing that good mainly cheap and nasty takeaways which sums the area up really.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Mr. A Lee,

First of all we would like to apologise for any inconvenience that you may have experienced during your stay at St Georgio Hotel and also to thank you for some of the positive comments, however there are a few points that we would like to comment on.
Our car park facility is Free of Charge and is limited on spaces; this is advertised in all our websites. The hotel is providing directions to a local car park which is 1mintune away from our hotel and that has more than 50spaces and with the following fees: Monday -Saturday 07AM-5PM, up to 1hour £0.70p, 1-2hours £1.30, 2-3 hours £2.00 over 3hours £4.50.Monday –Saturday 17PM- 07AM FREE OF CHARGE.
Our very basic rooms as you have called them are having included the following:
Flat screen TV, Coffee and tea facilities, safety deposit box that can feet a laptop, fridge, internal phone, shower with all amenities needed.
Regarding the reservation procedures please note that all our our clients are having an option to request e.g. rooms facing the car park, facing the rood or upper floors and the hotel staff will always try to meet everyone’s needs, which will prevent any noise.
The location of the hotel as mentioned is very good, closed to Central like underground, the hotel has in his neighbourhood a large number of Restaurants, local shops and also few take ways shops which most of our Customers are finding very useful.
We regret that your visit at St Georgio Hotel was not pleasant. If you wish to discuss these issues further please do not hesitate to contact us.

We sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

With kind regards
Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilford
1.1 mi away
Best Western Greater London Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western London Ilford Hotel
0.9 mi away
Britannia Inn Hotel
Britannia Inn Hotel
#6 of 15 in Ilford
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ilford
309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park
1.3 mi away
Travelodge London Ilford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Georgio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Georgio Hotel

Address: 454 Cranbrook Road | Gants Hill, Ilford IG2 6LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ilford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
Price Range: $70 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Georgio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm and friendly hotel in Gants Hill offers modern accommodation just a 20-minute Tube journey from Central London. Guests can enjoy free WI-Fi and limited free on-site private parking. St Georgio Hotel is offering a variety of room types, all en suite with a fridge and a flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a spa bath, kitchenette and air conditioning. Guests can enjoy a peaceful evening meal and have also the choice to select a variety of cocktails in the Bar/Restaurant opened from Monday to Saturday. Full English breakfast is served in the modern, light dining room. The hotel is located in a vibrant area of Gants Hill and it is just outside Gants Hill Tube Station (Central Line), 15 minutes' drive from City Airport and 30 minutes' drive from Stansted Airport. The 125-acre Valentines Park with the Valentines Mansion and boating lakes is adjacent to the hotel. Westfield Stratford City shopping centre is located just 12 minutes by train from St Georgio hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Georgio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Georgio Ilford
St. Georgio Hotel Ilford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing