We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of St. Georgio Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
St. Georgio Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Very clean hotel.
Minute walk from the subway.
Staff are very friendly and like to help with any questions.
Good value.
It took us 90 minutes by subway to get to Heathrow Airport.
Takes about 30 minutes by subway to the city center.
There is a huge shopping mall just 10 minutes by subway.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rodinidor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Dear Mr/, Mrs Rodinior

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your brief visit to our hotel, and that you found our hotel and facilities adequate and pleasant. We sincerely hope to see you again in the near future.

Best wishes

Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    159
    125
    44
    41
See reviews for
84
188
27
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I was at this hotel for 2 weeks and i am really happy with their services and value for money.
special thanks goes to AIA (i hope i spelled her name rite:) ) !! she was really helpful n friendly.
Ill definitely go there again !! :D

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nipuna89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Mr/Mrs Nipuna,

Thank you for this lovely review! I am pleased to hear that you were so satisfied during your time with us, and that you would happily return to us in the future. We look forward in providing you with the same fantastic service next time.
Your kind words will be passed to our Receptionist Aia.

Kind Regards

Christina Stanila
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I returned to the Hotel for a 4 night stay and was welcomed back as though I was a friend rather than a customer. The welcome was with radiant smiles and courtesy from all staff. I did stay once before my last review but didn't get chance to write an updated reiew. The standards that this Hotel both from managerial and all other staff set and work to are first class. The rooms are clean, compfortable and with all that you need, food is of a very high standard and very reasonably priced. Looking forward to my next visit as it makes my business trips more enjoyable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Mr Paul W,

On behalf of all staff at St Georgio Hotel, I would like to thank you once again for your good comments about our facilities; it is so pleasing to read that you are consistently happy with your experience at our Hotel. I hope that we can continue to deliver such excellent service to you.

Kind Regards,

Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

I had read some reviews and didnt know what to expect but I was surprised at the level of service, cleanliness and value for money. They upgraded us and the jacuzzi bath made the stay extra special!! The manager and staff were so lovely.. The room we stayed in was so clean and friendly, we didnt want to leave, honestly and thats how good it is. I recommend u stay there, ive stayed at the Hilton, jurys inn, Travelodge and this by far the best experience myself and my husband have had. Big thanks to all the staff and anyone who gives them a bad review id just crazy. We'll be back.. My husband loved it too! xx Mrs Short

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrsshort101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr/Mrs Short

It is always a real pleasure to read wonderful reviews like yours. I am most delighted to hear you enjoyed the whole experience here at St Georgio Hotel. Your great feedback has already been share with the whole hotel team and we all want to say to you: Thank You Very Much!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards
Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The hotel reception, housekeeping are very courtoeus and always welcoming. the room is clean, and well-furnished with the basic amenities. The breakfast is good and all included in the room price.
Special thanks to Mahmood, who was kind enough to guide me from the airport to the hotel with pin-point accurate directions and was so helpful during my long stay there.
My definite place of stay the next time I am in London if i get the same prices extended :-)

Room Tip: there are enough pizzerias and indian, chinese cuisine hotels if you step out apart from groceries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mr Rajesh K,

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your comments about our services and facilities and I am very delighted to hear you had a great stay with us. Your comments will be passed to all our Hotel team and especially Mahmood. I am glad you also enjoyed our Free Full English Breakfast buffet, which is definitely not to be missed.

Thank you again for your time,

Kindest regards,
Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Its a great little hotel, very practicle and great value.
Its near the subway, friendly yet professional staff, comfortable bright rooms, comfy beds, good breakfast, a relaxing lounge with internet wifi and coffee/tea - which I found perfect as i had also some work to do.
I stayed for a weekend and was very pleased.

I recommended it to all those who are visiting Iford or even London - the tube is so close.
Krisztina T.

Room Tip: I personally found it perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Krisztina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Mrs/Ms Krisztina T,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your brief visit to our hotel, and that you found our hotel and facilities adequate and pleasant. We sincerely hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

The hotel is in a very handy position and close to the underground. Reception staff were welcoming and helpful. Rooms are fairly basic but were very clean.

The major problem we had was that we were at the front of the hotel which is directly above a nightclub and a cocktail bar. Even in November the room was so stiflingly hot (and we checked that the heating wasn't on) that we were unable to sleep with the window closed. This meant we had thumping music going until about 12.30am when the bar closed, which wasn't too bad we first thought. The nightclub continued with the music, however it was at a much lower volume and we were able to fall asleep.

Unfortunately after a couple of hours the nightclub closed, and we were then treated to 2 hours of people standing outside in the street screaming, laughing, crying, shouting and doing all the other lovely noisy things that drunk people do.

My partner and I were both exhausted from our own busy day and besides had unpacked everything and were stark naked. We discussed ringing reception and asking to be moved but at 3.30am we just could not face getting dressed, repacking our cases, etc. Eventually the noise tailed off at about 4.30am.

Our room price included breakfast which was served in the basement room and was of very poor quality. Cheapest bread, tea, coffee, etc. Bacon and sausages were both horrible. No mushrooms, no hash browns, no fried egg, no tomatoes. No croissants for the supposed continental breakfast. No table service with drinks and no staff to greet you. Suggest you skip it and go grab something in one of the cafes nearby.

Limited parking is available around the back of the hotel but the arrangement of spaces means that 50% of guests will be parked in by other cars, necessitating a trip back to reception with the registration of the car, for the receptionist to then look up whose it is and attempt to locate the driver so they can move and let the other party out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karen1573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stgeorgio, General Manager at St. Georgio Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Mrs Karen,

On behalf of all staff at St Georgio Hotel please allow me to apologise for all the inconvenience you experienced during your recent stay with us and we regret that you had to contact trip advisor in order for you to make your complain made aware. We appreciate your review, however there are a few points that we would like to comment on.
Our buffet breakfast department is served in our Dining Room and is attended by three members of staff on a daily basis making sure that all of our customers will receive the best service. Our breakfast is included in the price therefore the hotel has a Standard option for what we can provide to our Customers, to name a few: apple, orange juice, water, tomatoes in two options cooked and fresh, scramble eggs, bacon, sausages, cornflakes, fruit cocktail, variety of cakes etc. The English breakfast and options available served are prepared daily with fresh and quality products by our qualified Breakfast chef.
Regarding our parking facilities we are advertising that we are having Free Parking with limited spaces and cannot be reserved. Our staff will always advise all of our clients not to double park.
We do apologize that during your night you have experience noise issues and we would like to confirm that all of our rooms are sound proofed and unfortunately the hotel can’t control any of the noise within the outside surroundings.
We regret that your expectations were not meet and I would like to take this opportunity once again to apologize for any inconvenience, if you wish to discuss these issues further, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards

Christina Stanila
General Manager
St Georgio Hotel
Tel. 0208 55 444 11
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilford
1.1 mi away
Best Western Greater London Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western London Ilford Hotel
0.9 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lucky 8 Hotel
Lucky 8 Hotel
#2 of 15 in Ilford
124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ilford
295 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express London-Newbury Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Georgio Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Georgio Hotel

Property: St. Georgio Hotel
Address: 454 Cranbrook Road | Gants Hill, Ilford IG2 6LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ilford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Georgio Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This warm and friendly hotel in Gants Hill offers modern accommodation just a 20-minute Tube journey from Central London. Guests can enjoy free WI-Fi and limited free on-site private parking. St Georgio Hotel is offering a variety of room types, all en suite with a fridge and a flat-screen TV. Some rooms have a spa bath, kitchenette and air conditioning. Guests can enjoy a peaceful evening meal and have also the choice to select a variety of cocktails in the Bar/Restaurant opened from Monday to Saturday. Full English breakfast is served in the modern, light dining room. The hotel is located in a vibrant area of Gants Hill and it is just outside Gants Hill Tube Station (Central Line), 15 minutes' drive from City Airport and 30 minutes' drive from Stansted Airport. The 125-acre Valentines Park with the Valentines Mansion and boating lakes is adjacent to the hotel. Westfield Stratford City shopping centre is located just 12 minutes by train from St Georgio hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Georgio Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint Georgio Ilford
St. Georgio Hotel Ilford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing