We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice service, good staff, low level of cleaning”
Review of Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Hotel
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“nice service, good staff, low level of cleaning”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

i stayed two nights in one of the back rooms,room location was good as there was some beautiful trees. hotel receptionist deal with us very nicely and welcomed us very energetically that finished our tiredness. he sent one young guy with us to show us the room and area. hotel staff very smiling, cooperative but little bit problems in room because tv was not working, no towels in rooms and no cups and bathroom dirty.i reported these problems to receptionist guy tiim and ale.tiim said very apologized and sent aley with us to give towels because it was croud of customers on reception, and then tiim came after some time and fixed tv for us after that. breakfast was good but cleaners very rudly behavior as they are angry with our visit. i am overall happy with this hotel and suggest my colloquies, friends to visit it again.thank you very much

Room Tip: rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Mr Joe,

Thank you very much for taking time and reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed the room location .
It is nice to see that you marked the staff service, as everyone is trying their best to make the stay of each and every guest memorable. I will pass the praise to them.

I want to apologize for any inconvenience caused and to assure you that the housekeeping team took part to a new specialized training.

By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

Sincerely,
Manager, Park Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    91
    69
    33
    67
See reviews for
105
63
28
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Matten bei Interlaken
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

WE DON'T RECOMMEND IT! When we arrived late at night at 1.00am, we were very tired from our long journey and just wanted to have a shower and sleep. But as we arrived, the guys at the reception would, firstly, not even come and greet us. Secondly, which was the evil part, actually, was, that they'd rebooked us to a different hotel (Cranbrook Hotel) a few blocks away from Park Hotel. For no apparent reason. As we experienced later, there was a huge group of young people (probably a school) flowing into the Park Hotel. So we knew.
Then we had to wait for a taxi. So, if you plan on either staying at the Park or the Cranbrook Hotel in Ilford, BE PREPARED they might rebook your stay, even late at night!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Inspiron_Swiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,
Thank you for completing the Guest Survey regarding your stay at Park Hotel and I want to apologies for any inconvenience caused.
I investigated the matter of why we had to divert you to our sister hotel. There was someone who suppose to check out but they extended their booking and thus we had to divert. We care about the comfort of our guests we had to divert you to our sister hotel, and we arranged a cab for you, which was paid by us.

Personally I want to apologize that the situation was not explained. The front of the house staff had a fresh training, as we are putting high marks on our guests’ comfort.

I sincerely hope that you will stay with us again in future. Please contact me direct and I will personally make sure that this wont happened again.
Sincerely,
Manager, Park Hotel Ilford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ilford hotels

cullompton,devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

This hotel is a joke,we paid for a double room for 3 nights and when we arrived were given a key after paying a £20 deposit !!We went to the room only to find it had not been cleaned!We went back to reception and were then given another room when we opened the door we didnt know wether to laugh or cry.I could touch both walls at the same time it was that small,they had managed to cram a small double bed in there and a wardrobe which nearly fell on me when i tried to hang my clothes in it.The bathroom was so mouldy the smell was unbearable and we had to keep the door shut.We somehow managed to get a few hours sleep as the noise of the traffic was loud as our room was right on the side of the main road.We complained in the morning and after a near stand up argument with the abusive staff they agreed to try and find a better room for us.We went out for the whole day and when we returned they had found us another room which was 100% better so we stayed for the other 2 nights.We didnt risk the breakfast but went to a cafe nearby.We wouldnt have choose this but itwas on the late rooms .com website which said it was ok,The RAC and AA signs outside this hotel had been taped over.

Room Tip: Ask for a room thats been cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lizarddibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Sir/ Madame,

First of all I will like to thank you for your feedback.
I would like to apologize for the inconvenience caused during your stay. We manage to speak to the staff and there was no such incident recalled of giving a wrong rooms. But in any event we sincerely apologize and will enroll them into a refresher training course.

The fact that we are asking £20 as key deposit on check-in is part of our hotel policy.
And I am happy to inform you that refurbishment works are taking place in the hotel so I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and we will be able to change the negative impression on a more positive one.
If I can provide any assistance, do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards,
Manager, Park Hotel, Ilford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed at the Park hotel for one night only, Its a reasonable hotel, nothing outstanding. The bed was comfortable, the walls are a bit thin, i could hear the people in the room next door talking till 2am.

Room Tip: When i booked the room the confirmation did not mention that the hotel required photo ID and a £20 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Mr Atcook,

Thank you for completing the Guest Survey regarding your stay at our property.

We are glad that over all, you had a good stay with us.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and I will make sure that the policies of our hotel will be mentioned on the confirmation letter.

Thank you for your time and hope to see you again sometime!

Sincerely,
Manager, Park Hotel Ilford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I was moved to the Park Hotel when my original hotel had a leak. There is a surprise £20 key deposit, which I got back. The majority of customers were contractors at the Olympic site. Quite a lot of Polish builders and white van men. This was quite good, because other than sit around at the garden tables having a few beers there was not likely to be any noise or disturbance. The room was quite small and basic, but it had an en-suite shower and was clean. Plenty of parking at the back. All in all it was entirely suitable for a night or two. If I wanted somewhere to stay I would come back.

Room Tip: The hotel is an extended house, so choose a room accessed through the garden and on the ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anonnona1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking time and leave a feedback about our hotel on Trip Advisor.
As you said , we have a policy of asking a £20 as a key deposit which is totally refundable at check – out time.

As per the room size, I would like to let you know that different room sizes are available in our hotel and that all the rooms are en-suite.
We are very happy to know that you were satisfied with your stay and please check with the reception whenever decide to stay again as we are doing a lot of special deals.

We look forward to serving you again in the nearest future!

Sincerely,
Manager, Park Hotel Ilford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I visit London at least thrice a year and this was my first time staying at this hotel booked through Expedia. I was pleasantly surpirsed by the cozy atmosphere and clean rooms and en-suite bathrooms. Located opposite the charming Valentine Park, the hotel is conveniently close to the bus stop and Gants Hill underground station is just a leisurely ten minute walk up the road. The staff (although did not see many of them) at the reception are helpful and friendly as well as efficient. They serve an elaborate English breakfast but could do with better coffee. No other meals are available but you can order in an array of meals through the Hungry House website. The rooms have a radiator that can be controlled by the guest, a flat screen television with most of the popular channels, a coffee and tea maker, free wi-fi and hot and cold shower cubicles. So far I have enjoyed my stay here and hope that the hotel will remain as comfortable and cheerful. I reccomend this hotel for budget travellers and assure you that you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for en-suite - may include an additional cost though. I had room 33 and A1
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Anpas,

Thank you very much for your time and valuable review. It’s a big pleasure for us to know that you were satisfied with your stay!

The hotel team is trying their best to make each guest’ experience enjoyable.

Thank you and we would be very glad to see you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Manager, Park Hotel Ilford
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
espagne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 30, 2012

very bad stay! we are surprised about the time between the Gants Hill underground and the hotel it takes more than 15 minutes contrary to that we saw on the website effectively we passed in front of the valentine's park but it as much far as they said! The shower is bad two choice too hot or too bad. The receptionist is quite impolite when we asked questions we had different answers never clear they seem to be irritate because we had booked a room with Wi-Fi as it is noticed on their website but surprise !! we had not connection so we asked for another room and the manager I supposed tell us it was an extra!! The only good point was the breakfast there was a large choice eggs, bacon sausage, tea, coffee, apple or orange juice etc... Owing to the several problems, i won't come back in this hotel for sure the rooms are quite "old" and after research we have learned it is not identified as AA hotel so a piece of friendly advice think twice before to take the wrong decision to book this hotel !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank mrs v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel M, Manager at Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Dear Sir/Madame,

I want to thank you for taking time and write the review. We want to apologies for any inconvenience you might found during your stay. We are happy you enjoyed breakfast .
The time between Gants Hill underground and the hotel it takes around 10 – 15 min walk but also by bus it takes about 3 min, there are night buses as well and the bus stop is in front of the hotel.

I have noted your concern on the shower problem. The issue has been fixed by the maintenance team. . Please accept my apologies for that.

We were completely shocked to find out that the receptionist was impolite .We have taken this matter very seriously indeed and our staff had a fresh and new training, as for us is very important the comfort of our guests.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you and to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Manager, Park Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilford
0.2 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
155 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ibis Budget London Barking
0.6 mi away
Lucky 8 Hotel
Lucky 8 Hotel
#2 of 15 in Ilford
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Best Western Greater London Hotel
0.4 mi away
Best Western London Ilford Hotel
0.7 mi away
St. Georgio Hotel
St. Georgio Hotel
#5 of 15 in Ilford
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Hotel

Property: Park Hotel
Address: 327 Cranbrook Road, Ilford IG1 4UE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ilford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Park Hotel is located opposite Valentine's Park, which is beautiful and well cared for, covering over 136acres. There are amenities for tennis, mini-golf, swimming and boating. The park is well known for its old English garden, the Rosary Terrace and its lakes. The hotel is ideally placed for all public transport - a few minutes' walk from Central London Line Underground, Gants Hill, and British Rail, Ilford stations (twenty minutes to Central London). It is, therefore, an ideal situation for visiting London to see the sights. Eight bus routes pass the door to Barking, Dagenham, Chigwell and further afield. Park Hotel has been established for over twenty-five years and is run as a family business by the resident proprietors. Free car parking is available in the hotel grounds. Please Note: One part of Park hotel will be having light renovation works carried out between 1st July to end of September 2016. Sorry for the inconvenience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, HRS, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Hotel Ilford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing