We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely surprise”

JRC Global Buffet Ilford
Ranked #7 of 13 Quick Bites in Ilford
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Brazilian, Chinese, Indian, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Reservations
Description: JRC Global Buffet Ilford Branch consist over 300 dishes and 12 live cooking station from 12 different countries. There is something for everyone's need. Global Cuisine, Freshly cooked.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Been there today for lunch. Quite expensive £15.99 per person on Saturday so we asked if we could look around first. We were quite impressed with the range of food available so decided to sit down.

The food quality is surprisingly good I must say. We thought it would be one of those "mass production" quality but actually they are quite nice. Roast duck has crispy skin ( which is rare in buffet restaurant !), fried fish was nicely done( though they claimed its cod but we don't think so, they are just normal frozen white fish), prawns were meaty and firm, basmati fried rice was very nice, fresh salmon is fine ( you don't normally have that in buffet so it was a lovely surprise). We really appreciated the fresh fruits (pineapple, grapes and oranges) as well.

Overall the food is a bit salty for our liking but we felt that they have taken it seriously, and will go again.

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank GraceChung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (588)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

524 - 528 of 588 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2014

Lots of fresh good quality food, lots of choices from all around the world- great smart interior. Staff are polite and attentive

Date of visit: March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kathryn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

This large, modern and spacious restaurant can be found in the middle of Ilford. It's surrounded by car parks, is 3-4 minutes walk from the station and there is a bus stop outside - so, convenient.
Up the escalator to the the first floor you enter a very clean, modern reception where you pay the set price prior to entry. Entering the restaurant, it certainly looks the part and you are struck by its size. A limited selection of drinks must be purchased at the bar - I'm told by my disgruntled colleague that they don't stock good malt whisky.......
We found the staff efficient and, on the whole friendly, although some found it hard to smile.
So, we come to the food. Well, there is a lot of it and you can eat as much as you like, returning over and over again. There was quite an extensive range of food from different ethnic menus but I felt that it was all a bit lacking in quality. But what can you expect for £7-8...
With a few exceptions, the starters were essentially rather tasteless 'bits' fried in batter. The main courses were limited and many were poorly prepared.
The was however, a selection of fresh fruit and the gateaux were quite tasty.
So, you pays yer money and you eat yourself silly BUT don't expect a culinary experience. Would I go again, I suspect my friends will because it's convenient but I won't.

Date of visit: May 2014
2  Thank Voxsilens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2014

If you are looking not to spend too much money but want to go to a fancy(ish) restaurant this is definitelythe place to go. (Best time to go is when they have just astarted serving the dishes the food tasts the nicest then).

Date of visit: May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank goodfoodnani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Went there last night and honestly I was scared after reading the reviews but everything turned out to be really good! The staff was polite and friendly ! The food was amazing.. Loved it esp the thai and teppanyaki section! The atmosphere and ambience was warm and welcoming! Overall it was a good experience and our guests enjoyed being there alot! But i wish they could serve more halal dishes! The chinese section was non halal and i was looking forward to try their roasted duck! Money well spent!

Date of visit: April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Faryal Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed JRC Global Buffet Ilford also viewed

Ilford, Greater London
Redbridge, Greater London
 
Ilford, Greater London
London, England
 
Ilford, Greater London
 

Been to JRC Global Buffet Ilford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing