We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different take on a takeaway”

Wok Wala - Street Kitchen
Ranked #44 of 264 Restaurants in Ilford
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Delivery
Description: Wok Wala - Street Kitchen. Pan Asian flavours. Fresh ingredients, Healthy, Fast, Simple foods. Sauces made from scratch! Friendly Staff! Some are calling us Halal Chinese and Indian - We call our cuisine Pan Asian Fusion - We are something a little bit different!
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Different take on a takeaway”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

whatever style of food you like- you can have-its all cooked up in a wok- piping hot and packed in square boxes (usa style) - it is however delicious.
Plain to spicy - rice or noodles- vegetarian or meat- Chinese or Indian
its a 3 step process= choose your base i.e. rice or noodles. then add a meat like chicken, lamb or prawns, then say what 2 veg u want added in and what style sauce ie spicy Thai or bbq or fragrant Indian and away you go - its really quick just 5-10 mins from start to finish and the medium pot fills most bellies- large is too big really . There are other things to try like ribs and samosas. A medium pot is about £5- a large £7-.
It really caters for delivery or takeaway as only a few bench style tables

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank G-J-T-AND-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    18
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not great to dine in...”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Food is ok, however it can be a little confusing the way the menu is set out. Not great at all to dine in, they have these wooden benches and it is often very cold in the restaurant. Owners are nice people. I have tried the other Chinese Restaurant on the Same block, Gourmet Grill and they're Chinese food is really tasty and portions much bigger than Wok Wala's. Try it for yourself.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
“Great Concept. Great food & Value”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Funky little place. Great fresh food, at Mcd prices. Friendly service.
Ribs are awesome!!! tried all their flavours, personal fav is the Indonesian Sambal.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shafiul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Absolutely love the food!”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

This place is one of my favourite places to dine, they make the good fresh within minutes with a wife variety of choices. Foods really warm and the decor of the place itself is very different and I find myself coming here once a week at the least. Would definitely recommend!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sh_akh93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Most delicious food in the Ilford/Seven Kings/Goodmayes area”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Most delicious food in the Ilford/Seven Kings/Goodmayes area. Chinese food with that necessary twist of south Asian spice. Very unique flavours - needs its own cuisine!

Our family get really excited when we get delivery from here (4 or 5 times now). They provide authentic Chinese takeaway boxes for everything with chopsticks. Perfect for gatherings and sharing!

My reccomendation: Try lamb tikka in Rice (vermecilin) noodles, mangetout (beans), baby sweetcorn, red chilli slices, with a Thai green curry sauce base.

Always order Large as it's only a quid extra. And they don't bump you!

Takes a long time though. But worth the wait - wallahi.

Helpful?
Thank Azim1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wok Wala - Street Kitchen also viewed

Ilford, Greater London
 
Ilford, Greater London
 

Been to Wok Wala - Street Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing