We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”
Review of Cafe 104

Cafe 104
Ranked #13 of 260 Restaurants in Ilford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

By day this is a 'normal' café serving the usual café fare. However when night falls it changes to a Turkish restaurant. The food is excellent, with exotic lighting. It must be said that the tables and chairs are rather basic but this seems to add to the atmosphere. The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. The restaurant has recently been re-furbished although it wasn't too bad before. Be prepared to enjoy some good Turkish food, freshly cooked at reasonable prices and the drinks are not over priced although perhaps slightly over pub prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    33
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Day & Night...”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Visited in day and can't fault it, gets busy but very popular with locals. Coffee is good and milkshakes very tasty. So decided to try Turkish BBQ following evening with a large family group.
Atmosphere was great, staff are fantastic in evening too.
Food was very authentic just like was years ago in Antalaya. The roasted onions in pomegranate they bring out to nibble on is lovely.
Not a bad word about food and 4x under 9yo couldn't fault it either, portion size too. The fave of night was ribs and Beyti.
Staff couldn't be ant friendlier and helpful.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Good, it is a cafe”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

Food is alright for the area the Turkish food is not bad, its better than its near by competitors for eat in experience but indeed it is a cafe so there is a transition period when you might not feel like going in as you walk past the locals just sitting down having a fag and smoking.

Its not that expensive with a gourmet society card you get like 25% off and that's the only time I've gone.

The staff are super friendly, always very good presentation, professional!

Improvement suggestions, are you a restaurant or are you a cafe? It put me off for so long cause it looked like a cafe like the other ten down barkingside high street.

Helpful?
Thank Nuur2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly and generous with some charming touches.”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We knew nothing about Cafe 104 when we decided to eat there so it came as a very pleasing revelation. We were greeted with warm smiles and made to feel welcome. The menu is excellent with a wide choice of food. I chose the Lamb Guvec and whilst we waited for our main course we were presented with complementary starters. A generous gesture which further increased our already good impression. My Lamb Guvec was served and proved to be an excellent choice. The other member of our party were equally pleased with their courses too. When the modest bill arrived it was presented in a most charming way which I'll not spoil for any potential visitors. Cafe 104 is worth seeking out. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles_Fox88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Small, noisy but food excellent”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This small out of the way Turkish Restaurant in Barkingside, Essex is small,can be very noisy but to get better food and service from such a bijou anywhere, you would pay a lot more and the portions would not be so generous. One of the places I return to, time and again, when in the area. Try their Salt Beef & Chips, excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 104 also viewed

Ilford, Greater London
 
Ilford, Greater London
 
Ilford, Greater London
Woodford, Greater London
 

Been to Cafe 104? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing