We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This has only got good reviews because of the people who go there! Oldies!”

Mirage Steak Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 264 Restaurants in Ilford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This has only got good reviews because of the people who go there! Oldies!”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We've booked a table, did we need to? No, there sad only 2 other occupied tables, bearing in mind we've gone for a late lunch, the atmosphere want good at all. The music in the background consisted of Katy Perry and Taylor Swift.

The menu arrived, a crappy old laminated piece of paper with stickers on and typos all over (check out the Tirmisu), we ordered our food.

The humus and pitta bread arrived, realistically, you can't screw up humus so that was good, the samosa things were tasteless and oily and the breaded mushrooms looked like it had come out of a packet.

The mains consisted of steak, salmon and lamb (Sunday Roast). When asking how much the steak weighs, the waiter didn't know, his answer was 'big'. The salmon turned up and was undercooked, the steak was cooked well but over 50% was fat, the lamb was cooked well but I can tell this wasn't fresh cut lamb, this has definitely been 'fresh frozen'.

You have a choice, Tirmisu, mixed ice cream, creme caramel or bread and butter pudding for dessert... Not too keen on any of them but one of us got the bread and butter pudding and it was awful - warm puke on a plate... Definitely came out of a microwave.

Maybe shame because I came here in January, the menu was EXACTLY the same and the food was just as poor.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Marc R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    51
    13
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great food great people great price”
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Not many family restaurants left but this is still one the best around love it go there once you become part of three family 32 years and still going strong good luck

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yasmin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Dover soletastic otherwise best avoided!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

Dines in this 1975 time warped restaurant on a Sunday night. Fellow diners appeared to be extras from a Mike Leigh film!

We chose the mixed hors doeuvres plate for 2 to start with as the restaurant bills itself as Turkish and we're keen on middle eastern food. It was grim. Horribly over battered whitebait, prawn cocktail in a ghastly sauce, meat & cheese boreks which were very 'heavy', yukky humous,tarama and olives but surprisingly good cacik, Turkish cheese & salad.

Next came my husband's average veal escalope chasseur, greasy onion rings and average cauliflower cheese, (both extras) and my whopper of a well cookef Dover sole & gherkintastic Tartare sauce. I knew it would be a big boy so I didn't order any side dishes but the fish came up without even a piece of lettuce to garnish it! At £24 I was a bit dissapointed.

As the restaurant lacks any ambiance we decided at this point to toddle back home for coffee snd I certainly wouldn't rush back there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckhurstHillbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tasty and well priced”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

The meals were well cooked and nicely presented. Main courses were quite large. Staff were friendly and helpful. I would recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank howard46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex uk
1 review
“fantasic food”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

first time.massive portions.brilliant menu,look out for the specials board.Jason looked after us and was great.All the staff so friendly.Reasonably priced.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myles m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirage Steak Restaurant also viewed

Ilford, Greater London
Ilford, Greater London
 
Ilford, Greater London
Barking, Greater London
 
Ilford, Greater London
 

Been to Mirage Steak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing