We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Starve while you wait!”
Review of Don Pietro - CLOSED

Don Pietro
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Starve while you wait!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Wandered around Gants Hill for ages looking for a nice restaurant when the owner lured us into this one with some banter.Got seated straight away and our order was taken quite swiftly. We didn't have to wait long for our drinks but waited ONE HOUR for our food!! I don't know if it was intentional so we would order more drinks? The owner came over to half heartedly apologise for the delay. The waitress was very glum looking, also when the waiter took our food order he corrected my husbands pronounciation of the dish which i found really rude!The food was nothing special i'm afraid,certainly not worth waiting 1 hour for! Would not go back and i'm not normally fussy!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AntjeWilkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    31
    12
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely Italian restaurant in Gansts Hill”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Living near by we visit sometimes the restaurant.
Very nice food and service.
Highly recommended.
Only thing maybe could be chaneg having a bit less light and some nice Italian music.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dancso1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Super Average”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I don't want to say this was bad but it certainly wasn't good - very average in fact. A safe choice if everything else is shut. The calamari tasted like deep fried elastic bands and the steak was tough but for a ten quid set you get what you pay for. Desserts are store bought and very uninspired and the service was pleasant enough. Kids had the pizza which were good. Italian food for people who have never been to Italy and don't know any better.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank regan888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Table for 10”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Went here after a long day at netball. We booked a table for 10 and it was all waiting for us when we arrived. Service was top notch. Great selection of food. Very large portion starters and. Ain. So much so couldn't finish main meal. The staff were so friendly made it a great night out. Great value for money would go back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cazdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Friendly”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This is a pleasant restaurant with good wholesome food the steaks are great and the pasta is andante.
The parking in the area is a bit challenging but the food and service is worth the trouble. Enjoy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pablo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Pietro also viewed

 
Ilford, Greater London
Ilford, Greater London
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing