We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Britannia Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Britannia Inn
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
“Value for money”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We've spent allot of time searching for a hotel in Stratford area and eventualy we've found this one. Not sure what to think we looked at the reviews and the first impresion was fine.
For the price we've paid it was the perfect choice.
If we will be able to get the same price next year we will definetly come back.

Regards from Romania.

Room Tip: book in advance , maybe you will get a good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stefania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritanniaInnIlford, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
We've spent allot of time searching for a hotel in Stratford area and eventualy we've found this one. Not sure what to think we looked at the reviews and the first impresion was fine.
For the price we've paid it was the perfect choice.
If we will be able to get the same price next year we will definetly come back.
Response,
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your stay at the Britannia Inn Ilford Hotel. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Alexandru Feraru
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    60
    29
    14
    12
See reviews for
59
37
9
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Craiova
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights and overall the experience was a positive one.
Breakfast ladies and receptionists are really polite and are trying their best to help you .
Definitely will come back next time.
Thank you guys for everything!

Room Tip: choose a back room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritanniaInnIlford, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will surely be sharing them with our team.
We are very much looking forward to welcome you back in the nearest future.
Kind regards,
Alexandru Feraru
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nimes
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Their web site claims it is "a moment's walk" from Ilford station, which is an outrageous lie. In fact it's a 20 minute trudge right up to the very end of Mansfield street. Have a look at googlemaps - you'll see it's about a kilometre. The street is very squalid and seedy, so depressing at the end of a tiring day.

My room was tiny and smelt due to an apparent lack of any natural ventilation.

Being so far out of town, the train fares and time involved add up if you're coming and going. Especially if there's a couple of you, you'd be far better off putting that money towards a room closer in.

And if this is really all you can afford, you'd be better off putting up with the trials of hostel life close to the action, and saving a heap of money and time travelling.

Reading some of the reviews here, I wonder if they're not put-up jobs, as they reflect a very different place the the one I stayed in.

Depressing and to be avoided.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gr8gra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritanniaInnIlford, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
First of all thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback.
We are really sorry for any inconvenience you had during your stay.
Regarding your comment about the distance between hotel and Ilford station the actual distance is 0,5 miles and normally it should take around 6-8 min walking time (for a average person) according to Google map.
Regarding the size of the room this is quiet a regular room size for a London hotel and planning laws.
We would like to apologise that not everything was up to your expectations but rest assure that the reviews for our hotel are not “put-up jobs” as you think. They are comments left by the guests who stayed in our hotel. It is against the TripAdvisor policy to have un genuine reviews.

Kind regards,
Alexandru Feraru
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ilford hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Cheap and clean.
For the price we paid i must say that this small hotel was the best choice during our short visit in London.
Is not a five star hotel but the staff and the rooms are the main reasons for me to book this hotel again in the future.

Thank you!
We hope to see you guys next time.xxx

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antony b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritanniaInnIlford, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us.
I will happily share your comments with the rest of the team and i am sure it will make them very happy.
We are glad to hear that you have had such an enjoyable experience with us and hope to welcome you back in the nearest future.
Kind regards,
Alexandru Feraru
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roma
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent 5 nights here and here are the conclusions:
The rooms are small but comfortable enough and have everything you need, bathrooms are clean and functional, beds are comfortable with clean sheets.
On the second day as it was too hot in the room so we’ve asked the receptionist on duty if he can do something about that and after couple of minutes he brought us a fan.
Free Wi-Fi as well.
The breakfast is free and good, but it was the same thing every day. This is the only downside.

Room Tip: Choose a back room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dragos d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritanniaInnIlford, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will surely be sharing them with our team. I very much look forward to welcome you back in the nearest future.
Kind regards,
Alexandru Feraru
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We we're here during the OS2012. Cancel till 24 hours without costs was the deal, but the hotel manager changed the policy without telling us. 3 beds in a too small room, noisy street especially during the night. Tea/coffee facility: 2 cups in a 3-person room(?). Breakfast: very simple. OK, the room was clean. But overall: the price of 5 stars for a 1 star hotel. :-(

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Erica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritanniaInnIlford, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay with us while attending the Olympics.
We would like to apologise that not everything was up to your expectations, the size of the room this is quiet a regular room size for a London hotel.
Please do accept my apologies for the problem you’ve experienced with the cups and be assured I have passed this to the housekeeping team.
The hotel rates vary on special events (i.e.Olympic period).
I hope you will consider staying with us and we will be able to make your stay enjoyable and memorable.
Kindest regards,
Alexandru Feraru
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

Hotel in ok position and was pretty good for Olympics. Service was good and room pretty clean. Minus points, tiny room, tiny breakfast room and awful breakfast. Main gripe was the prices were hiked up for Olympics and was rip off.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vaughanio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BritanniaInnIlford, Manager at Britannia Inn, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
First of all thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback.
The hotel rates vary depending on special events (i.e.Olympic period). We are very pleased to hear that you like the cleanliness of the hotel.
I hope you will consider staying with us and we will be able to make your stay enjoyable and memorable.
Kindest regards,
Alexandru Feraru
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ilford
0.3 mi away
Best Western Greater London Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western London Ilford Hotel
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ilford
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lucky 8 Hotel
Lucky 8 Hotel
#2 of 15 in Ilford
120 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Georgio Hotel
St. Georgio Hotel
#5 of 15 in Ilford
514 reviews
2.6 mi away
Viking Hotel
Viking Hotel
#840 of 1,067 in London
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britannia Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannia Inn

Property: Britannia Inn
Address: 54 Mansfield Road, Ilford IG1 3BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ilford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HRS, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hotel.de, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Britannia Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britannia Inn Ilford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing