We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, but good value money, good location and parking facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Best Hotel Limited
Ranked #11 of 15 Ilford B&B and Inns
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Basic, but good value money, good location and parking facilities”
Reviewed March 14, 2011

Stayed for 1 night as were visiting the 02 for a show. The hotel was easy to find and a short distance to Ilford railway station. Quiet location and lots of parking availability on site. Oyster cards can be used to travel into London by traiin and on bus travel, overland train links directly to the underground stations.
The hotel was clean, and the breakfast very good, although the restaurant area is small the food was plentiful, hot and good quality, with cereals, toast, full english breakfast available. Staff very pleasant and helpful.
The beds are clean and comfortable, rooms are basic but have tea and coffee facilites, hairdryer available from reception. Good flat screen tv with freeview. The rooms have been subject to some refurbishment and had private bathroom facilities. Wireless internet available in the reception area.
Lots of places to eat nearby, and close to Ilford shopping centre, Wetherspoons pub within a short distance of the hotel. Within reasonable proximity to Lakeside and Bluewater shopping centres. Would recommend for a short break.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PennyRon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    8
    22
    12
    26
See reviews for
18
17
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2011

Me and my two friends arrived at the hotel at 12.30 in the afternoon, we had to wait for more than an hour because the room had to be cleaned while the check in time is earlier in the morning. We did not get so much as an apology.

- the room was not very clean
- there was no shelf or hook in the bathroom to keep toiletries
- the antenna of the tv was broken, we could not get a picture
- the bedding on 1 of the beds was dirty
- we paid cash and found out later that our credit card was also charged. We still don't have the money back and they are not being very cooperative.
- breakfast is limited

+ location is good, nearby a trainstation and some shops

I would not go here again or recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debora_Amsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ilford hotels

Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Room basic (described outside as stylish?), window draughty, but radiator heated the room up well. Bed comfortable. Welcome tray supplied 2 coffee sachets but only one tea bag. There was a TV but no Sky, or WI-FI in the room.
Staff not particularly friendly. Breakfast - self service, "hot" buffet breakfast was all cold one morning, the heaters underneath the dishes were not on. I'm sure that the staff would not eat cold congealed fried egg so why offer it to paying customers? Next time I would pay more and stay somewhere better.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bramble017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkdale, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2010

What was good? - was very reasonably priced - 45 pounds per night including a full english breakfast. Also, we could not stay our full 4 nights, but the hotel refunded 2 of the nights without any hassles. Close to the railway station for easy transportation.
What was average? - no air conditioning; room was very warm notwithstanding the weather was not all that hot. Bathroom had sparse amenities e.g. no toilet roll holder; no bathroom mat. These are some simple basics that the owners could easily fix without too much cost.
Also, don't get a room next to reception; it can be quite noisy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2010

Rooms basic but clean, superb welcome tray, TV, everything one could possibly want when staying overnight and visiting the Capital.
Staff really friendly and helpful. Breakfasts, again basic but very filling. Would recommend highly. If you want service Ritz style this is not the place for you but if you want good value for money, clean rooms, accessibility to London then cannot recommend sufficiently.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PoppyBrownlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lasiteral
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2010

Citybest Hotel Limited is a very new hotel, but I believe the building is not new. It seems as though it has only been recently renovated for this hotel's opening.

What was good:
The room was clean with tasteful decor. The shower had good water pressure and hot water. Hand soap was provided. The room was fairly spacious considering the price. The breakfast was included with room rate and was good quality and filling (breakfast buffet). There was a radiator in the room for heating. There was a tea kettle and tea provided. The price was very reasonable. The hotel staff was very friendly, professional, and accommodating, within reason. The Ilford Rail Station is just down the street (5 min walk) from the hotel. The rail station was closed during our stay, so our trip into the city took longer than it would have if it had been open. Check tube closures on the tube website before booking if this is a concern. The hotel is in Zone 4. We walked to Ilford Rail to buy day tickets. Took the bus from Ilford Rail to Gants Hill. Then took the Central Line tube from Gants Hill west into city center. This whole process took about 45 minutes. There was free parking with video surveillance at the hotel. Free wi-fi was provided. There were restaurants and grocery stores very near by.

What was not good:
Our room had a smell of cigarette smoke. The hotel has a no smoking policy, however. The smell wasn't so strong that it was noticeable after a few minutes in the room though. When we complained we were provided air freshener (no other rooms were available). There was no television in our room. The shower door leaked a little and allowed water to get on the floor. The shower was very small. No shampoo or conditioner was provided. Only one towel was provided for a double room (but we received a fresh towel each day). No alarm clock provided. The neighborhood had some questionable people milling around late at night near the hotel. I would have felt unsafe staying on the first floor and leaving a window open (there's no AC). There is no lift, only stairs.

Overall, we only had minor complaints, and since we were in the city sightseeing all day, it was a fine place to come back and sleep at night. The trip on the metro was longer than we would have liked, but this is primarily due to the weekend line closures that happened while we were there. The price is very good. This hotel is recently renovated, so it may deteriorate in cleanliness and quality over time, but for now it is good since it is new. I would recommend it for budget travelers who don't mind a little longer trip into city center and a few small inconveniences.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lasiteral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilford hotels
0.2 mi away
Lucky 8 Hotel
Lucky 8 Hotel
#2 of 15 in Ilford
124 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Greater London Hotel
1.1 mi away
St. Georgio Hotel
St. Georgio Hotel
#5 of 15 in Ilford
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western London Ilford Hotel
0.4 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ilford
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Best Hotel Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Best Hotel Limited

Property: City Best Hotel Limited
Address: 31-33 Mansfield Road, Ilford IG1 3BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ilford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Ilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — City Best Hotel Limited 2.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your City Best Hotel Limited reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Best Hotel Limited Ilford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing