We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Prison room”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Banks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Banks Hotel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
Herstmonceux, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Prison room”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

Stayed in a quad room. This was the worst room we have ever had the displeasure of staying in. Filthy dirty, poor quality everything. No bins so nowhere for sanitary items. Cups for 3 people although there were 4 were all chipped and cracked. Everything about it was horrible. TV didn't work as there was no aerial. Man that came to put one in never said a word the whole time he was in the room (and he did speak English) Didn't want to eat there and when we complained about the room the man at reception laughed!! The people ahead of us at reception were also asking for a refund. Reviews on their website must be falsified.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    34
    28
    67
See reviews for
35
36
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Room got robbed of valuables management couldn't give a monkeys. breakfast rubberized. Mice running through rooms, noisy guest's which management did nothing about. They also put room prices up halfway through the wk because of they olympics even though we stayed here whilst working locally for a month

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simonhebble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ilford hotels

Ilford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

When booking the room, it was described as a spacious double room. On arrival we found the room was barely big enough for the 2 of us and was far too hot with all the windows open. Chanels on the tv did not work. No spoon provided with the tea making set. Pillows were old and uncomfortable. It is situated on a very busy street with a lot of noise from surrounding pubs ect. Took a long time to get us checked. Overall not a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

This hotel is situated very near to Illford station and easily accessible by bus. Also very near to Valentines park, which is a very beautiful park with a lake. Breakfast of this hotel was also very good. Value for money

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Avineet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

the saying you get what you pay for is perfect 4 this hotel. The rooms are basic, very basic, even a colored bedspread would be enough to brighten up the room. The toilet made so much noise 'till 2 hours after you flushed it, and the carpet had many stains, the bed very uncomfortable, and lots of noise throughout all the night, and the funny thing is that under their sign outside the hotel, says 'a good night sleep'! The breakfast was ok, the service terrible, and overall we won't be staying here anymore!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaniSarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel was such a bargain! Clean, good location and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kattseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by a young worker who told us we could not have the quad rooms that we had requested and paid for a month before our visit!! We were told we could have three rooms instead, not happy but thought we would check out our rooms which we had requested either next door or very near each other, they were all on different levels and opposite ends of the building!! We returned to reception and wad told "its only for one night cant you deal with it?"
"erm no mate we cant!!!!"
We asked to speak to a manager as apparently we could not be offered any other rooms near each other, but conveniently it was the managers day off we insisted on speaking to him and 2 hours later he turned up we had one room moved, whilst waiting other people had been checked in but previously we were told every room in the building was taken!!! We demanded some sort of compensation as this was their mistake!! It was hell dirty smelly and as for customer service........there wasn't any!! I wouldn't put my worst enemy in this place!! I will never be staying here again and will never recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Afarron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ilford hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Greater London Hotel
0.1 mi away
Britannia Inn
Britannia Inn
#6 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Hotel
Park Hotel
#10 of 15 in Ilford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
St. Georgio Hotel
St. Georgio Hotel
#3 of 15 in Ilford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lucky 8 Hotel
Lucky 8 Hotel
#2 of 15 in Ilford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN London Ilford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banks Hotel

Property: Banks Hotel
Address: 5-9 Park Avenue, Ilford IG1 4RS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Ilford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Ilford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banks Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Banks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banks Hotel Ilford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing