We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese in Horsham!”
Review of Jade City - CLOSED

Jade City
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Horsham!”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had given up hope of finding a decent chinese restaurant in Horsham, but now we have found a great one! We went last night and had a wonderfull meal. The service was excellent, the only problem was we ordered too much food! The salt & pepper squid was amazing. As for the person who called the food bland, well it isn't, it was the nicest Chinese we have had since moving to West Sussex 5 years ago. Our search is over and we will be going back, soon!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    44
    10
    14
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good quality food and fantastic service.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Fourth visit and the food was delicious yet again. If you want great food, great service and and a pleasant atmosphere, Jade City is for you.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gooner123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“'Underwhelmed'”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I visited Jade City recently with my girlfriend and we were dissapointed with the experience. The restaurant itself lacked any charm or ambience and we were packed in pretty tightly. The food is reasonably priced but for a reason - we found it uninspiring and ultimately pretty bland. There was also a feeling that they wanted to turn you around as soon as possible to get as many covers in as possible! Also experienced a pet hate of mine which was the waitress overfilling our wine glasses to empty the bottle and then try and get us to have another bottle!

There are better chinese restaurants in Horsham unless you are looking for an 'eat as much as you can' option.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DGB78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Mystified at all the "fantastic" reviews”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I admit I went for dinner as a party of 4 about 10 months ago, so things may have changed.
The restaurant is fairly small, with quite a few tables packed in fairly tightly.
Decor & ambience is, shall we say basic.
Food was ok, but strangely served on small 1970's style floral plates!?
I'm sure the all-you-can-eat option is great, and that seems to be what most of the positive reviews here are based on.
Can't say I'd rush back for the dinner experience, especially at the weekend.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smoother_Tomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food - friendly staff”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Have eaten at Jade City on numerous occasions and have never had a bad meal. They charge £15.50 for an all-you-can-eat menu and the quality of the food is top notch. Great place to go for couples or large groups, although you need to book to make sure you can get a table as they are always busy.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade City also viewed

Horsham, West Sussex
Crawley, West Sussex
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing