We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just what I expected” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr Li's

Mr Li's
Ranked #85 of 161 Restaurants in Horsham
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Just what I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

We went to Mr Li's chinese restaurant for the first time, expecting it to be what we call 'an old fashioned chinese with very good food' and it was just what we expected! There was only one other couple there when we arrived, but that didn't put us off. Service was quick and courteous, food was excellent and abundant, and the red wine at room temperature, what more could one want! We went on a weekday evening, which was probably why there was a lack of clients. I do hope it is frequented more on weekends as this restaurant is very good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Amathos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    8
    10
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very dated...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

This used to be a really busy restaurant that everyone would go to and have a great night out - now there are very few people dining there even on a Friday or Saturday evening. Mr Li is always very friendly and takeaway service is ok - but food is uninspired and very sloppy. China brasserie is a much better Chinese and one of the best in West Sussex

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mattmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Timeless & authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We've been dining with Mr Li since before our 19yr old daughter was born. If you want to learn about genuine authentic sezchaun cuisine then Mr & Mrs Li are the people to engage with.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank beddbugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a shame”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I've been going to Mr Li's occasionally since the late 80's and have watched it go from a very busy buzzy restaurant offering great food and fast service to what what i experienced tonight. Extremely slow poor service, shockingly poor waitresses, waitresses not knowing the menu, dropping things, not clearing tables for 45 mins, one even said she didn't know what a finger bowl was for but 'have one anyway', !!. the menu and the decor hasn't been touched for 2 decades either, just not good enough at the price. no wonder its 3/4 empty, What a shame but i won't be returning.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bland Tasteless Food.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Can honestly say this was the worst Chinese meal I have ever tried..Can't understand why it was so busy as I certainly won't be going back.Food was completely tasteless and watery...ended up throwing it away complete waste of money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracylouise71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Li's also viewed

Horsham, West Sussex
Horsham, West Sussex
 

Been to Mr Li's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing