We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations”
Review of Restaurant Tristan

Restaurant Tristan
Ranked #2 of 164 Restaurants in Horsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $60
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Housed in a 16th Century building in the historic town of Horsham, Restaurant Tristan opened in 2008 and has been a firm favourite with local foodies ever since. Inside, original wooden beams contrast with contemporary style to create an intimate setting for lunch or dinner. Chef and Proprietor Tristan Mason worked in top restaurants like The Greenhouse and Mirabelle before becoming Head Chef at The Hare where he achieved his first Michelin Star. The menu at Restaurant Tristan is predominantly British with some creative French influences, with dishes like terrine of pheasant and turbot with truffle risotto taking centre stage. Ingredients are locally sourced wherever possible and the extensive wine list is designed to complete this truly unforgettable dining experience.
Weybridge
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

In the pleasantly airy dining room, we enjoyed the Taste menu for lunch. First thing to say, I disagree with the comments that the service is too slow. You cannot be rushed through a 5 course meal and the amount of time we were given between courses was, in my view, just right. The food is imaginative, original, good contrast in taste and texture. The presentation is excellent and we appreciated the use of seasonal ingredients such as cobnuts and rarely used vegetables. Altogether this is a restaurant to go back to and its Michelin star is well deserved.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ettemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    625
    87
    41
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Well worthy of its star”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Tristan was not my first choice , I was looking for a great local restaurant for my wife's 50th birthday treat. The other local restaurant could not accommodate our requirements so I took a look at Trip Advisor as was impressed with what had been said. Well I can tell those that offered 5 stars did not exaggerate. Our party all order the Tasting Menu , 6 courses of culinary heaven. Scallops, lamb , quail , grouse each dish as good as the first. Small portions but by the end of this you will not want a morsel more. Fine and reasonable priced wines all made for a great experience , at the kind of price you'd expect of a Michelin star restaurant but you won't regret it.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadenshadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
“Deserves the Michelin star”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We discovered Restaurant Tristan recently whilst looking for a good restaurant for lunch close to home.

The restaurant is situated off a pedestrianized street in Horsham, with a convenient car park just around the corner.

We were shown up to our table upstairs. Service was attentive and efficient, although the number of different people serving and taking away dishes, taking wine & drinks orders etc... was slightly dizzying.

The décor and atmosphere seemed on the stark side, but presumably looks more warm and inviting at night.

The food was very inventive, with unusual ingredients well put together. Easy to see where the Michelin recognition comes from. Outstanding was the raspberry soufflé. We didn't try it, but the fixed price menu is astonishingly good value.

We'd certainly recommend Tristan's as a Mid-Sussex fine dining option.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexCpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food - a little gem”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Varied menu, exciting combinations. Good choice of wines. Service was very attentive, would certainly be returning.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annieb1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Exquisite flavours and worth every penny”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Our first visit to Tristan's and it was a delightful experience. We couldn't fault them, impeccable service; attentive but not 'in your face'. The flavours in every dish were delicate and exquisite...everything cooked perfectly and the raspberry soufflé was just amazing ( the best soufflé I have ever eaten!).
The meal for 2 of us including drinks came to £80 and was worth every penny!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Saimanjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Tristan also viewed

Lower Beeding, Horsham
West Hoathly, West Sussex
 
Horsham, West Sussex
Hassocks, West Sussex
 

Been to Restaurant Tristan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing