We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Horsham
Post
Inbox
Search

“Dreadful Roast 👎🏻”

The Sussex Oak at Warnham
Ranked #40 of 188 Restaurants in Horsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Tripadvisor Certifcate of excelence 2019 Charming village pub set in the middle of beautiful Warnham Extensive menu of locally sourced dishes served alongside local ales and a broad choice of wines. Good choice of vegan and veggie options . good gluten free policy , seperate fryers for chips !! Featured in The Good Beer Guide for the last 18 years in a row, our ales are cask marque accredited for quality There is a huge garden and field to the rear of the property , ideal for the summer months The boules court in the garden is available to play just ask at the bar for a set of boules and enjoy ! A large car park with plenty of room for all
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We visited this pub on Sunday for a "need a roast" moment, gutted we couldn’t get in the pub up the road but went here instead.
Truly awful, 1 roast pork, 1 roast beef. Burnt yorkshire pud, powdery white fatty pork NO CRACKLING , carrots, broccoli and red cabbage, dark brown "gravy granules" gravy and arrived in about 4 minutes........from under the hot lamps to the table!
All in all will not be visiting this place again for food, only saving grace the staff were friendly.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank KellyP08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pjnWestSussex, Owner at The Sussex Oak at Warnham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Kelly
Very disappointed to read your comments , im really sorry that you didn't enjoy your lunch with us.
Had we known at the time you were unhappy we would heave replaced the meals without issue
I spoke to your waitress who served you on the day and she remembered you both very clearly, she said that apart from mentioning the absence of crackling on the pork , you were happy when you paid
We are an independent family owned business and pride ourselves on the locally sourced food that we serve.
On sunday we served well over a hundred lunches without complaint
I would delighted to talk to you , please email me
Regards
Peter Nottage


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 373 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What's not to like about enjoying a meal in a peaceful Sussex Village with a
burning inglenook fire to await you, in the company of pleasant hardworking staff and a
helpful Landlord with a sense of humour, "You sit by the fire, it's your job to make sure it doesn't go out". The lasagne meal was delicious along with the apple pie and custard.
We will return.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank J070553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2019

Went last year and loved it, so returned again, and it didn’t disappoint.
The food was amazing and such big portions. Lamb was so tender and Christmas turkey dinner so big, we’ll be back again next year.

Thank you

Heather Playgroup ladies

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Denise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2019 via mobile

We visited last Sunday with our son, daughter in law and two grandsons. Lovely warm atmosphere. Although busy we were served swiftly. All our meals were delicious. Excellent choice of meals and value for money.

Date of visit: December 2019
2  Thank babsbuckuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2019 via mobile

Went to the Sussex oak for the first time this evening. Its safe to say that I will not be returning. My boyfriend and I regularly eat out and decided to try this as something different to our usual haunts. We had the pate and the halloumi sticks for staters (halloumi sticks were overcooked) My boyfriend had the Mac and cheese with broccoli which he stated was tasteless and I myself had the burger that again was tasteless and extremely greasy and not in a good way. The dauphinoise potatoes were swimming. Literally swimming in oil.
All in all 2 courses each a side of dauphinoise potatoes and two drinks £55 not at all good value for money. Maybe the chef / chefs ought to look into a cooking course as this was not up to scratch.

Date of visit: November 2019
1  Thank Charliee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sussex Oak at Warnham also viewed

Horsham, Horsham District
Horsham, Horsham District
 
Horsham, Horsham District
 
Horsham, Horsham District
Horsham, Horsham District
 

Been to The Sussex Oak at Warnham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing