We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably one of the best curry houses in this area”
Review of Akash Restaurant

Akash Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 164 Restaurants in Horsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Horsham's Longest Family run Indian Restaurant, serving authentic, quality Indian food since 1976. Set in a traditional and contemporary surround with a warm and relaxed atmosphere. We offer a fast and efficient take away service from an extensive mouthwatering menu selection. Please take a moment to view our website and we look forward to welcoming you for an Akash experience. All our food served is Halal.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Probably one of the best curry houses in this area”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

I've been dining at this Restaurant for probably around about a year and a half And it's one of the best in the area, The service, the food and the atmosphere you just can't beat it. So I just can't understand why people referred it to being Worse than a Sainsbury's takeaway, The only thing I can think of is because they have no
Palate Or even the understanding about Curries. And that's why they
buy takeways from supermarket's.

The Akash is a family owned restaurant which has been around since 1976. It has a very wide selection of different dishes on the menu which will pleased any palate, It also has a very good selection of wines and beers. It's great value and with amazing dishes to try. So please don't look at the negative reviews about this
restaurant. The reason why I say this is because My father was born in Calcutta And he grew up in
Darjeeling, He was the one that
taught me at a very early age about the the different dishes you find in India. So I think I know what I'm talking about when it comes to Curries...... unlike some

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lordy6464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    44
    14
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Staff and were very rude and unhelpful shame as food is good and we always choose Akash over other restaurants. Will not be returning.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Horshamist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Sliced Chicken out of a packet”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Great service but the food is no better than costco sliced chicken. I was Ill after going here.The menu is so large that the only way to provide such a big menu is to have generic dishes with different sauces - either that or its all out of a microwave

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Brusque waiter!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Food was excellent and MOST of the waiting staff were lovely however meal felt very rushed. Did not appreciate being hurried.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mhippychick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasteless take-out”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Having eaten in the restaurant once before we decided to try the take out for an easy option dinner. Very disappointing. The Saag Kumbi Paneer was pretty tasteless even for a 'medium' spiced dish and contained no paneer whatsoever. The Prawn Balti again was watery and underwhelming. We won't be returning!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1FXC, Manager at Akash Restaurant, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear KateP,
Thank you for your feed back. I am very sorry to read that your recent takeaway experience of our food, was not as good as your last dinning experience.
The Saag Kumbi Panneer dish that you ordered is a mild to medium dish, cooked with spinach, mushrooms and cheese with a touch of cream and is a very popular vegetarian item on our menu. We do not use indian cheese in this dish or any of our other dishes on our menu. However we do stock indian cheese for customers that request it.
If you had kindly called us directly, we could of dealt with your experience and offered you at least a full refund or a complete alternative meal!
I am sorry to hear that you will not be returning as a customer, but should you wish to again in the near future, then please do not hesitate to contact me to resolve this matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akash Restaurant also viewed

Horsham, West Sussex
 
Horsham, West Sussex
Horsham, West Sussex
 
Horsham, West Sussex
Southwater, West Sussex
 

Been to Akash Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing