We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, slow service.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cote Brasserie - Horsham

Cote Brasserie - Horsham
Ranked #5 of 161 Restaurants in Horsham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our inspiration for the food and design of Cote is a modern interpretation of the many famous bistros of Paris. Inspired by new trends, we are dedicated to serving authentic classic brasserie dishes with a modern twist, using high quality produce at great prices. On the menu, guests will always find brasserie favourites on our a la carte menu such as steak frites, moules marinieres, corn-fed chicken from rural Brittany and tuna Nicoise, for dessert, Cote's creme caramel and creme brulee are much-loved house specialities. Seasonality and Cote's commitment to sourcing high-quality ingredients results in a monthly changing specials menu, ensuring there is always something new to delight regular guests and gastronomes alike, as well as the excellent value set menu. Open early every day for breakfast, through to lunch and dinner; Cote's atmosphere is informal and friendly.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife went for lunch here, ordering the special of steak frites. Because we had skipped breakfast we ordered a croissant each, which was nice and soft but cold with no butter offered (I don't mind it being cold but you might).

My steak did contain about five bites of gristle and equally concerning was that when I tipped the remaining of my fries out of the tin at the end of the meal a horrible scraggly, short hair accompanied them. Other than that it was absolutely delicious!

I'm not the type of guy that causes a fuss about such things and I certainly wasn't going to let it deter me from dessert. Unfortunately it took ages for our plates to be cleared and after the menu's arrived nobody seemed to want to take our order. After deciding that 15-20 minutes was long enough we decided that once the waiter came over we would ask for the bill. It took about a further 5-10 minutes before I decided I would just get up and ask for it.

Overall, good food (not excellent, certainly overpriced) but good luck getting your hands on it! Would not visit again.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    267
    100
    43
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent food, great value pre-7pm menu...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had a great 1st experience at Cote, the 3 course pre-7pm menu is great value and the food was all excellent. Service was good too, very efficient and friendly. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mky337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton In Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

My wife and I were visiting Horsham and walked around until we found this place. It certainly looked very inviting - and very French! We were warmly welcomed by a young lady who asked us where we would like to sit. Everything was very impressive - the design and decor and the atmosphere.
We decided to take the set meal available for lunch and early evening (from Noon until 7pm). This seemed very reasonable at £9.95 for 2 courses and £11.90 for 3 courses. Everything was very well prepared and presented and the wine we chose was excellent and good value. The staff we encountered were all very friendly and we noticed that this restaurant is obviously very popular as it soon started to get busier.
The service was without fault - unhurried but efficient - we even learnt quite a lot about the place from our server. We will certainly return as soon as we can.
I now realise that there are lots around the UK so will try some more branches!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Outlaws_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good as usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Family lunch with two under 9's, 3rd time this year not disappointed, as a chain they seem to have it right, food choice good, excellent service and standard price for whats available.

Makes a change from Pizza Express ect..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had been putting off / weaseling out of going to Cote for a while as i hadn't seen any glowing reviews, but my brother loves the place, so he booked a family meal there for 9 people to celebrate his girlfriends birthday.
We went on a Sunday night, and for some reason the only slot available was 8.15pm - however when we got there the restaurant was only 1/3 full, so couldn't understand why we were only offered that time?
It took about 20 mins for the waiting staff to take our food order, having taken our drinks order the minute we arrived, so we didn't get starters until about 9pm.
Food was a bit of a mixed bag - although all was high quality - the portion sizes varied greatly. I ordered the 1/2 roast chicken, which came with potatoes, green beans, and a sauce, and it was a fairly large meal, but my fiance ordered the haddock, which was the size of a small banana and came on a puddle of mushy peas about the size of a taxdisk! Thankfully he was able to have some of my dinner as his certainly wasn't enough.
All the food was very salty - so much so that i had to start disassembling my meal to remove the skin from the chicken and scrape the sauce off.
All in all, my original feelings about the place haven't changed - its nothing special, and in all honesty if you want french food, go for a Cafe Rouge!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank welshiesgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cote Brasserie - Horsham also viewed

 
Horsham, West Sussex
Horsham, West Sussex
 

Been to Cote Brasserie - Horsham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing