We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VIVA ITALIA”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carmela

Carmela
Ranked #5 of 162 Restaurants in Horsham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Carmela Italian Restaurant is run by the Raciti family and offers an authentic Italian dining experience for all the family. Based in Denne Road Horsham, West Sussex, the 16th century listed building has been completely renovated from top to toe in a contemporary yet charming style which is both warm and inviting.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“VIVA ITALIA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Carmela in Horsham is a very good Italian restaurant, great location and nice outdoor seating on the terrace for lunch.
very good and inventive food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank paolo2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    135
    78
    31
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just OK. Wouldn't go back”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We went for my daughters 20th birthday. There were 7 of us and the bill, for a starter and a main course each with wine was £30 per person. The calamari was really chewy and not fresh and the pasta under cooked. The staff were friendly and a nice atmosphere inside. I feel it is over priced for what it is though and wouldn't return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Day Time great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We went back but this time for a mid afternoon snack, service was great again and whatever you wish to eat is no problem, I used the free wi fi while having coffee after eating and really enjoyed the whole experience, well worth a daytime visit as well as a fantastic evening venue

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PaulandTracySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cuisine reasonably priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Honest good cuisine at reasonable prices. Great variety on the menu,cooked and presented to a high standard. Service was great and atmosphere was comfortable. House wine was very pleasant - unexpectedly so for the price.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnAverageJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Treat the people you like!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

I have visited Carmella's several times and each time the experience excelled itself. Starting with the welcome which is always warm and friendly and almost like you are being invited into their home for dinner. Service was good even though this time our waitress was serving for the first time. As usual the food could not be faulted and the Seafood stew is to die for! On this last occasion I took my Brother and Sister-in-law who have eaten out in many places around the world and thoroughly enjoyed their Carmella experience. Keep it up!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carmela also viewed

 
Horsham, West Sussex
 
Horsham, West Sussex
 

Been to Carmela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing